Category: Uncategorised

Uncategorised
Australian Writers' Centre Team

Richell Prize 2017 Short List just announced

The short-list for the Richell Prize 2017 has just been announced. This is a prize for emerging writers, so it gathers quite a large number of entries. There were 579 entries this year and the judges managed to whittle that down to these five. We know you want to know

Read More »
Uncategorised
Valerie Khoo

Organising your research for content and feature writing

By Valerie Khoo Would you like to save time and streamline your writing workflow? Do you want to ensure that your research is organised perfectly and easy to access/find? As a freelance feature and content writer, I often have to do a lot of research, conduct interviews, analyse reports and

Read More »
Uncategorised
Australian Writers' Centre Team

Author Rajith Savanadasa is in “Ruins”

Hot off the press is the first novel from Australian author Rajith Savanadasa, Ruins. “A stunning debut novel from a fresh voice in Australian fiction, for fans of Zadie Smith and Rohinton Mistry,” says the press for this one. So we asked around and tracked him down to answer a

Read More »
Uncategorised
Australian Writers' Centre Team

Using crowdfunding with Unbound to get your novel published

Guest post by Claire Scobie This a story about how I’m using crowdfunding to get my novel The Pagoda Tree published in the UK. I’m using Unbound, a UK publishing model with a distinguished past. Once known as “subscription publishing”, in 1688 the first edition of Milton’s Paradise Lost was

Read More »
Uncategorised
Australian Writers' Centre Team

Sydney meet-up with Natasha Lester

Be the first to find out about future Australian Writers’ Centre meet-ups – sign up to our weekly newsletter! When and where is the meet-up? We’re so excited to be hosting our meet-up on Tuesday 31 May 2016, 6.30-8pm At the  Australian Writers’ Centre head office Ground floor, 55 Lavender Street

Read More »
Uncategorised
Australian Writers' Centre Team

We chat with Nicole Hayes about her new book about AFL

So Nicole Hayes is going gangbusters right now – with her YA fiction novels being so well received right across Australia and beyond. But her latest book, From the Outer: Footy like you’ve never heard it, is a collection of stories written by a range of different people about the

Read More »
Happy St Patrick's Day!
Uncategorised
Australian Writers' Centre Team

33 of the best Irish jokes

In celebration of St Patrick’s Day this week, we’ve searched the interwebs high and low (okay, maybe not too low) for “turty-tree” of the best Irish jokes around. Luckily for us, Irish folk are more than happy to have a chuckle at themselves – so feel free to enjoy in

Read More »
Uncategorised
Australian Writers' Centre Team

57 inspirational quotes to kick off 2016!

Here at the Australian Writers’ Centre, we love inspirational and motivational quotes – if you don’t believe us, check out our Instagram feed!  Once the domain of framed glass pictures on corporate office walls, such quotes are now more accessible than ever – thanks mainly to the rise of the

Read More »
Uncategorised
Australian Writers' Centre Team

Wanted: Amazing Office All-rounder in our Sydney office.

This position has now been filled – thanks for your interest! The Australian Writers’ Centre team is growing and we have room for a full-time Office All-rounder. Please note: This role is not a writing-based role. This role won’t be a stepping stone for you to publish your novel – but you

Read More »
Uncategorised
Australian Writers' Centre Team

Sydney meet-up with Candice Fox

BOOK NOW Who is speaking at this event: Candice Fox is the bestselling crime and thriller writer behind the novel Hades, which won the prestigious Ned Kelly Award in 2014. Its sequel, Eden, was published in January 2015 and won the Ned Kelly Award in 2015. Book three in the

Read More »
gold and silver award badge with the text AusRomToday Reader's Choice Awards Nominated
Uncategorised
Australian Writers' Centre Team

AusRom Today’s Reader’s Choice Awards 2015 are now OPEN

Lovers of romance, now is the time to get in and get your nominations in for the AusRom Today’s Reader’s Choice Awards. According to the AusRom Today website, the categories are: Best New Author Best Established Author Cover of the Year, and Book of the Year The top ten nominations

Read More »
Uncategorised
Australian Writers' Centre Team

Perth meet-up with Natasha Lester

Monday 12 October 2015 Time: 6.30–8.00pm Although the official time is from 6.30pm to 8.00pm, you are welcome to stay as long as you like – and we imagine many of you will! Who: Natasha Lester had always wanted to be a writer but somehow found herself studying Commerce when

Read More »
Uncategorised
Australian Writers' Centre Team

Writers: are we safe from the robot invasion?

Writers and authors; great news. If and when our fridges start talking to our mobile phones, and plotting world domination with our garage door remotes, we can be assured of one thing – we’re not so easily replaced. That’s right. A little procrastination device post appeared online this week with

Read More »
Uncategorised
Australian Writers' Centre Team

Job Vacancy: Director of Emerging Writers’ Festival

JOB ADVERTISEMENT All details from the Emerging Writers’ Festival website Emerging Writers Festival Festival Director The Emerging Writers’ Festival (EWF) invites applications for the exciting position of Festival Director. The Festival Director will lead the artistic direction of EWF and deliver high quality, diverse and dynamic programs in support of the emerging writers

Read More »
Uncategorised
Australian Writers' Centre Team

What does a ghostwriter do? Sally explains.

Ever wondered what it’s like to be a ghostwriter? How do you take someone else’s story and write it from their point of view. Sally Collings discusses what you need to do to become a successful ghostwriter. Our top-rating podcast So you want to be a writer features a regular ‘Writer in

Read More »
Uncategorised
Australian Writers' Centre Team

Perth meet-up with Georgia Richter

Monday 8 June 2015 Time: 6.30–8.30pm Although the official time is from 6.30pm to 8.30pm, you are welcome to stay as long as you like – and we imagine many of you will! Who: Georgia Richter is the Fiction, Creative Non-fiction and Poetry Publisher at Fremantle Press. She holds an

Read More »
Uncategorised
Australian Writers' Centre Team

Perth meet-up with Danny Parker

Monday 20 April 2015 Time: 6.30–8.30pm Although the official time is from 6.30pm to 8.30pm, you are welcome to stay as long as you like – and we imagine many of you will! Who: A teacher for more than 20 years, father-of-two Danny Parker started writing picture books three years

Read More »

Courses starting soon

Creative Writing Stage 1

Online, 29 June 2020 - $450

BOOKINGS CLOSE TODAY

Writing Picture Books

Online, 29 June 2020 - $450

BOOKINGS CLOSE TODAY

Freelance Writing Stage 1

Online, 29 June 2020 - $450

BOOKINGS CLOSE TODAY

Novel Writing Essentials

Online, 29 June 2020 - $695

BOOKINGS CLOSE TODAY

Copywriting Essentials

Online, 6 July 2020 - $550

Writing Picture Books Masterclass

Online, 6 July 2020 - $345

Write Your Novel - 12 month program

Online, 6 July 2020 - $245/month

Writing Workout

Online LIVE, 7 July 2020 - $550

Travel Writing

Online, 13 July 2020 - $450

SEO Copywriting

Online, 13 July 2020 - $550

Teenage Creative Writers’ Program

Online, 13 July 2020 - $395

Browse posts by date

These graduates changed their lives – you can too!

GET OUR FREE WEEKLY NEWSLETTER – WITH WRITING TIPS, COMPETITIONS AND MORE! YES PLEASE!

Back to top ↑
×

Nice one! You've added this to your cart