$20,000 up for grabs with the 2022 The ‘Australian’/Vogel’s Literary Award

Do you want to enter the same literary award that launched many famous Australian author’s careers?

The Australian/Vogel's Literary Award 2022 is now open for submissions.

The Vogel Award is a prestigious literary award that has launched the careers of many famous Australian authors including Tim Winton, Kate Grenville, Mandy Sayer and more.

According to the Allen & Unwin website, this year the prize is $20,000 plus publication by Allen & Unwin with an advance against royalties.

“The Australian/Vogel's Literary Award-winning authors have gone on to win or be shortlisted for other major awards, such as the Miles Franklin Award, the Commonwealth Writers' Prize and the Booker Prize,” The Allen & Unwin website states.

That is quite impressive.

The most recent winners of the award were Katherine Kruimink for her novel A Treacherous Country in 2020 and Emily O’Grady’s The Yellow House in 2018.

How to enter

Entry requirements include being under the age of 35 on 31 May 2021, being an Australian citizen or permanent resident.

Also, according to the Allen & Unwin website:

  • “The manuscript submitted with the entry form should be a work of fiction, Australian history or biography.
  • It must be a minimum length of 50,000 words and a maximum of 80,000 words.
  • The manuscript must be an original work, entirely by the entrant and it must be written in English.”

Entries close 31 May 2021.

If this sounds like something you’d love to enter, and you fit the entry requirements, head to the Allen & Unwin website to find out more.

Browse posts by category
Browse posts by category

Courses starting soon


Nice one! You've added this to your cart