2018 shortlist announced – Patricia Wrightson Prize for Children’s Literature

We’re delighted for super-talented children’s author and AWC alumnus, Tamsin Janu, who has not one, but TWO novels in the shortlist for the 2018 NSW Premier’s Literary Awards (Patricia Wrightson Prize for Children’s Literature.)

Tamsin came up with the idea for her first book during her AWC course How to Write for Children and Young Adults (check out her personal story) – and hasn’t looked back. Her award-winning books are taking the children’s literature world by storm. Blossom and Figgy Takes the City are the latest to be recognised – we have our fingers and toes crossed for you, Tamsin!

From the State Library of NSW website:

The Patricia Wrightson Prize ($30,000) is offered for a work of fiction, non-fiction or poetry written for children up to secondary school level.

The 2018 shortlist:
The Patchwork Bike by Maxine Beneba Clarke and illustrated by Van T. Rudd
The Elephant by Peter Carnavas
Blossom by Tamsin Janu
Figgy Takes the City by Tamsin Janu
How to Bee by Bren MacDibble
The Sorry Tale of Fox and Bear by Margrete Lamond and illustrated by Heather Vallance

The NSW Premier’s Literary Awards have a proud history, both in celebrating achievement by Australian writers and in helping to establish values and standards in Australian literature.

Winners be be announced on 30 April 2018.

To view the all the 2018  NSW Premier's Literary Awards shortlist categories, check out the State Library of NSW website.

Browse posts by category
Browse posts by category

Courses starting soon

Do you have a passion for writing? Save up to 40% off 50 courses SEE COURSES


Nice one! You've added this to your cart