2021 NSW Premier’s History Awards now open

Do you write history? Good news. The NSW Premier’s History Awards for 2021 are now open! 

According to the media release, there is a total of $75,000 in prize money in the following five categories:

  • Australian History Prize ($15,000)
  • General History Prize ($15,000)
  • New South Wales Community and Regional History Prize ($15,000)
  • Young People’s History Prize ($15,000)
  • Digital History Prize ($15,000) 

What are the NSW Premier’s History Awards? 

According to the State Library of NSW website: “The NSW Premier’s History Awards were first presented in 1997 to honour distinguished achievements in history by Australian citizens and permanent residents. Held annually, the awards assist in establishing values and standards in historical research and publication and encourage everyone to appreciate and learn from the work of our historians.”

Previous winners include James Dunk for Bedlam at Botany Bay in the Australian History Prize Category and Kate Fullagar in the General History Prize Category for her book The Warrior, the Voyager and the Artist.

Submissions for the 2021 prize close on Monday April 12 2021.

To find out more or to enter, please visit The State Library of NSW website.

Browse posts by category
Browse posts by category

Courses starting soon

Do you have a passion for writing? Save up to 40% off 50 courses SEE COURSES


Nice one! You've added this to your cart