AWC presenter and alumnae longlisted for the 2020 Davitt Awards 2020

Sisters in Crime recently announced their 20th Davitt Awards and we’re thrilled that so many familiar names are featured on the long list!

Our amazing alumnae Sarah Bailey (Where the Dead Go, Allen & Unwin), Sandie Docker (The Cottage at Rosella Cove, Penguin Random House Australia) and Petronella McGovern (Six Minutes, Allen & Unwin) are in the running for Best Adult Crime Novel.

Joining this list is #1 bestselling author and AWC presenter Candice Fox with her novel Gone By Midnight, Penguin Random House Australia.

Plus AWC alumna Astrid Scholte has been longlisted for Best Young Adult Crime Novel for Four Dead Queens (Allen & Unwin).

To view the complete long list and learn more about the Davitt Awards, head to the Sisters in Crime website.

What are the Davitt Awards?
The Davitt Awards celebrate the best crime and mystery books written by Australian women. The awards are named after Ellen Davitt who wrote Australia's first mystery novel, Force and Fraud, in 1865.

There are six awards given each year: Best Adult Crime Novel; Best Young Adult Crime Novel; Best Children’s Crime Novel; Best Non-fiction Book; Best Debut Book (any category); and Readers’ Choice.

When will the winners be announced?
According to the media release, the six Davitt Awards will be presented at a gala dinner in Melbourne in September 2020.

We have all our fingers and toes crossed for our talented AWC family!

Browse posts by category
Browse posts by category

Courses starting soon

Do you have a passion for writing? Save up to 40% off 50 courses SEE COURSES


Nice one! You've added this to your cart