AWC alumna Petronella McGovern longlisted for the Australian Indie Book Awards

Congratulations to AWC alumna Petronella McGovern for being longlisted for the Australian Indie Book Awards in the debut fiction category with her novel, Six Minutes. You can read more about Petronella’s journey to publication here

According to the media release:

Established in 2008, what makes the Indie Book Awards unique is that it’s the Australian independent booksellers themselves who nominate their best titles for the year; select the Longlist; judge the Shortlist and vote for the Category and Book of the Year winners – the entire process is based on the selection and involvement of independent booksellers, members of the Leading Edge Books group, making it one of the most democratic awards in the Australian literary calendar.

This award has been around for over a decade and has a reputation for choosing the best Australian writing has to offer. For example, past winners include The Dry by Jane Harper, The Happiest Refugee by Anh Do, Boy Swallows Universe by Trent Dalton and more.

We eagerly await the announcement of the shortlist for the 2020 awards on 15 January 2020.

The Category Winners and the Overall Book of the Year Winner will be announced on 23 March 2020 in Brisbane.

Congratulations again to AWC alumna Petronella McGovern for being longlisted. We have all our fingers and toes crossed for you!

Find out more about the Indie Book Awards on their website.

Browse posts by category
Browse posts by category

Courses starting soon

Do you have a passion for writing? Save up to 40% off 50 courses SEE COURSES


Nice one! You've added this to your cart