88 Australian authors to follow on Twitter

Share on Pinterest

You’ve often heard us bang on about how social media can help your build your author platform and help you connect with other people in the industry.

Well, if you’re an emerging or established writer, who should connect with? Apart from your friends, family and fans, here are 88 Australian authors to follow on Twitter. Please note that they are not ranked in any way and, apart from being listed in different categories (to help if you want to follow authors in a certain genre), they appear in no particular order.

Fiction

1. Hannah Kent @HannahFKent
Publishing director of popular journal Kill Your Darlings and multi award winning author of the novel Burial Rights.

2. Jane Rawson @frippet
Former travel writer for Lonely Planet and author of A Wrong Turn at the Office of Unmade Lists.

3. Debra Oswald @DebraOswald1
Children’s author and scriptwriter, she is creator and head writer of multi-award winning Channel 10 drama Offspring.

4. Helene Young@HeleneYoung
Author of Safe Harbour, a novel shortlisted for Australia’s Favourite Romantic Suspense 2014 award.

5. Dominic Knight @domknight
Writer for ABC TV, contributing to shows such as The Hamster Wheel and The Chaser’s War on Everything; also a successful novelist.

6. Patrick Allington @PatrAllington
Author of popular fiction book Figurehead which was listed for the 2010 Miles Franklin award.

7. Caroline Overington @overingtonc
Award-winning Australian novelist and journalist in both fiction and non-fiction. She has won the Australian Walkley Award for Investigative Journalism twice.

8. Charlotte Wood @charlottewoodau
Novel The Natural Way of Things coming October 2015; author of five other books. Literature chair for the Australia Council.

9. Kirstyn McDermott @fearofemeralds
An experimental writer, whose first novel Madigan Mine was termed an ingenious blend of gothic horror and psychological thriller.

10. James Bradley @cityoftongues
Novelist, Critic, Blogger. Author of Wrack, The Deep Field and The Resurrectionist. Editor of The Penguin Book of the Ocean. New novel, Clade, out now.

11. Nick Earls @nickearls
Nick writes for both children and adults; his tweets include commentary on current events and issues.

12. Kylie Ladd @kylie_ladd
A novelist and freelance writer who has been published in The Age, Griffith Review, O Magazine, The Sydney Morning Herald, Good Medicine and Kill Your Darlings.

13. Claire Scobie @clairescobie
Author of The Pagoda Tree and Last Seen in Lhasa. Teaches at the Australian Writers’ Centre (@WritersCentreAU).

14. Favel Parrett @favelparrett
Successful writer, whose first novel Past the Shallows won the Dobbie Literary Prize and Newcomer of the Year at the Australian Book Industry Awards. She is also author of When The Night Comes.

15. Markus Zusak @Markus_Zusak
The author of the multi-award winning novel The Book Thief who tweets intermittently.

16. Nikki Gemmell @NikkiGemmell
Well known novelist of books like Shiver and The Bride Stripped Bare, Nikki has also written her first children’s novel The Kensington Reptilarium.

17. Anna Spargo-Ryan @annaspargoryan
Debut novelist, compelling blogger and social media maven. She tweets about writing, mental health and her pets.

18. Graeme Simsion @GraemeSimsion
Author of The Rosie Project and The Rosie Effect. He is winner of the ABIA Book of the Year for 2014.

19. Emily Maguire @EmMaguire
The author of the novels Fishing for Tigers, Smoke in the Room, The Gospel According to Luke and the international bestseller Taming the Beast.

Children and YA Authors

20. Nicole Hayes @nichmelbourne
Writer, screenwriter and author of One True Thing and The Whole of My World. Teaches at Australian Writers’ Centre (@WritersCentreAU).

21. Fleur Ferris @FleurFerris
Young Adult author who tweets to promote upcoming novels, including her own debut novel Risk.

22. Hazel Edwards @muirmoir
Children’s author with over 200 books published, including There’s a Hippopotamus on Our Roof Eating Cake.

23. Tristan Bancks @tristanbancks
Writer of books for kids and teens, he is author of novels such as Two Wolves, My Life & Other Stuff I Made Up.

24. Ellie Marney @elliemarney
Author of young adult rom-crime Every Breath (2013), Every Word (2014), Every Move (2015) who writes, teaches, talks about kids’ literature at libraries and schools.

25. Allison Rushby @Allison_Rushby
Author of a whole lot of young adult books including her most recent Beneath Beautiful. She tweets about Mini Coopers, Devon Rex cats, Downton Abbey and the process of writing.

26. Wendy Harmer @wendy_harmer
Media personality and children’s novelist famous for the Pearlie series, and author of young adult book I Lost My Mobile at the Mall.

27. Andy Griffiths @AndyGbooks
One of Australia’s most popular children’s authors, well known for the Just series.

28. James Roy @jamesroywriter
Children’s and YA novelist, winner of the Western Australia Premier’s Book Awards, he writes and travels to promote writing.

29. Allison Tait @altait
Journalist who also writes fiction and non-fiction books. Author of the best-selling middle grade fiction series The Mapmaker Chronicles. Teaches at the Australian Writers’ Centre (@WritersCentreAU).

30. Jen Storer @JenStorerAuthor
Jen writes chapter books and novels and picture books. Tweets about writing and children’s books.

31. Sarah Ayoub @sarahayoub
Journalist and author of Hate is Such a Strong Word.

32. Brendan Cowell @brendancowell
Actor, screenwriter, director and author of coming-of-age novel How it Feels.

33. Gabrielle Tozer @gabrielletozer
Tweeting about current events and life as a novelist, Gabrielle is the author of The Intern and Faking It.

Historical fiction and fantasy

34. Kate Forsyth @KateForsyth
Renowned historical novelist and author of many books like Wild Girl, Bitter Greens and The Puzzle Ring.

35. Keri Arthur @kezarthur
New York Times bestselling author of the Riley Jenson series and frequent tweeter of life, family and upcoming books.

36. Alison Croggon @alisoncroggon
Popular novelist of The Books of Pellinor and frequent tweeter about books, poetry and writing.

37. Kirsty Eagar @Kirsty_Eagar
Her debut novel, Raw Blue, won the 2010 Victorian Premier’s Literary Award for Young Adult fiction. Her second novel, Saltwater Vampires, was shortlisted for the NSW Premier’s Literary Awards.

38. Tansy Rayner Roberts @tansyrr
Award-winning writer and podcaster, writing crime fiction under the name of Livia Day. Her books include A Trifle Dead.

39. Rebecca James @Rebecca_James_
Author of novel Cooper Bartholomew Is Dead and frequent tweeter of things concerning family and young adult novels.

40. Narelle M Harris @daggyvamp
Melbourne based writer of crime, fantasy and vampire novels. She also writes erotica, short stories, essays, and plays.

41. Annabel Smith @AnnabelSmithAUS
The author of novel The Ark and Whisky Charlie Foxtrot, which will be published as Whiskey & Charlie in the US in April 2015.

42. Margo Lanagan @margolanagan
Author of Sea Hearts and Tender Morsels who frequently tweets about her novel writing process.

43. Jason Frank @jasefranks
Published author of graphic novels like The Sixsmiths. His first novel Bloody Waters was short-listed for the 2012 Aurealis Award for Best Horror Novel.

44. Alan Baxter @AlanBaxter
Horror, dark fantasy and sci-fi author who is famous for the Alex Caine series.

45. Max Barry @MaxBarry
Author of Time Magazine top 10 Fiction Book of the Year Lexicon.

46. Garth Nix @garthnix
Bestselling author of a variety of books including award-winning young adult fantasy novels Sabriel, Lirael and Abhorsen and the dystopian novel Shade’s Children.

47. Pamela Hart @pamelahartbooks
Author of 30 books including her most recent The Soldier’s Wife, a historical novel about WW1. Teaches at the Australian Writers’ Centre (@WritersCentreAU).

Crime and Thriller

48. John Birmingham @JohnBirmingham
Journalist, columnist and author of technothrillers like the series Emergence.

49. Anne Buist @SimoneSinna
Her first novel, psychological thriller Medea’s Curse debuted January 2015.

50. Matthew Reilly @Matthew_Reilly
The international bestselling author of 12 novels including: The Great Zoo of China, Ice Station, Temple, Contest, Area 7, Scarecrow, Hover Car Racer, Hell Island, Seven Ancient Wonders, and more.

51. Tara Moss @Tara_Moss
Her first non-fiction book, The Fictional Woman, was published with HarperCollins in 2015 and became a number one bestseller. She also writes novels.

52. James Phelan @RealJamesPhelan
James Phelan is the popular novelist of the Alone trilogy and the Jed Walker series.

Memoir

53. Kerri Sackville @KerriSackville
Author of My Husband Does the Dishes and The Little Book of Anxiety.

54. Julietta Jameson @juliettajameson
Julietta is a journalist, travel writer, columnist and author of several books including the memoir Me, Myself and Lord Byron.

55. Lee Kofman @LeeKofman
Well known author of memoir The Dangerous Bride.

56. Sarah Macdonald @sarahvmac
Writer, broadcaster, senior editor at Debrief Daily. Presenter ‘Just Between Us’ podcast. Her memoir Holy Cow is now in 6th translation.

57. Marieke Hardy @mariekehardy
Award-winning novelist of memoir You’ll be Sorry When I’m Dead.

58. Mia Freedman @miafreedman
Publisher of mamamia.com.au and author of memoirs Mia Culpa and Mamamia.

59. Benjamin Law @mrbenjaminlaw
His two books The Family Law and Gaysia: Adventures in the Queer East have both been nominated for the Australian Book Industry Awards.

Popular Women’s Fiction

60. Natasha Lester @Natasha_Lester
Writing mentor, teacher and public speaker and author of If I Should Lose You and What is Left Over, After. Teaches at the Australian Writers’ Centre (@WritersCentreAU)

61. Fiona McIntosh @FMcIntosh
Novelist, columnist, traveller, chocoholic, coffee snob, vegetarian, animal-lover, baker, movie-addict, cookware tragic, winter boots freak.

62. Josephine Moon @josephine_moon
Known for writing stories about food, like her novel The Chocolate Promise.

63. Lisa Heidke @lisaheidke
After a successful New Years resolution Lisa has since released five successful novels including her most recent It Started With A Kiss. Teaches at the Australian Writers’ Centre (@WritersCentreAU).

64. Dianne Blacklock @dianneblacklock
Author of nine successful popular women’s fiction novels including her most recent The Best Man.

65. Anita Heiss @anitaheiss
Anita writes a variety of genres including her most prominent memoir Am I Black Enough For You? As well as her popular women’s fiction books Paris Dreaming, Manhattan Dreaming and Avoiding Mr Right.

Romance

66. Amy Andrews @AmyAndrewsbooks
Esteemed romance novelist of USA Today bestselling novel No More Mr Nice Guy and Ask Me Nicely.

67. Valerie Parv @valerieparv
Veteran romance author, famous for her romantic novel, Birthright, Valerie has been awarded the ASA Medal for members of the Australian writing community who have significantly contributed to literary culture.

68. Anne Gracie @annegracie
Her romantic book The Winter Bride, has been nominated in four categories for the Australian Romance Readers Association awards.

69. Nicola Marsh @NicolaMarsh
Nicola’s novels include Marrying the Enemy, Busted in Bollywood and Get Lucky.

70. Juliet Madison @Juliet_Madison
Writing for a genre she terms ‘Romagic Comedy’ (romantic comedy with a touch of magic), her novel Starstruck in Seattle has made the Amazon top 100 Australian books.

71. Fiona Lowe @FionaLowe
An award-winning, contemporary romance author currently working on her 26th romance novel.

72. Elizabeth Lhuede @ElizabethLhuede
Author of romance Snowy River Man written under pen name @Lizzy_Chandler.

73. Kate Belle @ecstasyfiles
Author of dark, sensual love stories that will mess with your head The Yearning & acclaimed Being Jade.

74. Sarah Mayberry @MayberrySarah
Contemporary romance author of Her Worst Best Mistake and recurring tweeter of political viewpoints, upcoming romance novels and tips for aspiring writers.

Rural lit

75. Fleur McDonald @fleurmcdonald
The voice of the outback, tweeting about her current novel Crimson Dawn. With over 130,000 copies sold she is one of the highest-selling authors in Australia’s ever-popular rural romance genre.

76. Karly Lane @karlylane
An Australian rural writer of bestselling book North Star who tweets about rural life and life as a novelist.

77. Rachael Johns @RachaelJohns
Successful author of multiple books including the Outback series.

78. Nicole Alexander @AuthorNicole
Five-time bestselling author of Australian rural novels and 2012 NSW Barwon Woman of the Year for outstanding literary talent and promoting outback Australia.

Non Fiction

79. Jane Caro @JaneCaro
Social stirrer and esteemed author of Just a Girl, she tweets regularly about controversial social issues.

80. Peter Fitzsimons @Peter_Fitz
Former radio presenter and rugby union player turned successful journalist and author.

81. Richard Glover @rglover702
ABC radio presenter, journalist for The Sydney Morning Herald and author of novel George Clooney’s Haircut.

82. Marina Go @MarinaSGo
General Manager of Hearst-Bauer; author of the acclaimed book Break Through: 20 Success Strategies for Female Leaders.

83. Sandra Lee @FitToPrint
Successful journalist published in both Australian and overseas publications such as marie claire, Vogue and New York Post. She is also author of four non-fiction books including the bestselling Saving Private Sarbi.

84. Valerie Khoo @valeriekhoo
Journalist, author of Power Stories: The 8 Stories You Must Tell to Build an Epic Business and national director of the Australian Writers’ Centre.

85. Trevor Young @trevoryoung
Author of microDOMINATION: How to leverage social media and content marketing to build a mini-business empire around your personal brand. Avid Tweeter on all things social media.

86. Alecia Hancock @aleciahancock
Wearer of many hats including writer, Australian Writers’ Centre WA State Director and mother.

87. Adam Franklin @franklin_adam and Toby Jenkins @Toby_Jenkins.
Okay they’re technically two people but these guys are kind of a double act.  Social media specialists and co-authors of Web Marketing That Works and founders at @Bluewire_Media.

88. Adam Liaw @adamliaw
Winner of the second season of MasterChef Australia, now multi-published cookbook author. His tweets are fun and frequent, often about cooking, sport and current events.

Not on the list?

So you’re an Australian author and you’re not on the list? Or want to know why your fave author is not on the list? Well, we couldn’t possibly document every single Australian author on twitter who has been regularly active in the last three months… and 88 was a nice number to finish at.

But hey – if your favourite author isn’t on this list, feel free to tweet them yourself or leave a comment below to let them know how much you enjoy their online presence!


Share on Pinterest
Comments