Adelaide Festival Awards for Literature 2020 shortlist announced

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp
Share on email
Share on print

Thirty seven writers have been shortlisted in the Adelaide Festival Awards for Literature.

This is a highly prestigious award with $167,000 of prize money up for grabs. The prize began in 1986 with previous winners including Tim Winton, Helen Garner, Richard Flanagan and Gail Jones.

We’re cheering extra loud for our AWC alumna, Tamsin Janu – whose book Winston and the Wondrous Wooba Gymnastics Club is shortlisted in the Children’s Literature category. (Read more about Tamsin’s path from writing course to published author).

This year’s winners will be announced on the 29th February 2020 as part of the 2020 Adelaide Festival.

And without further ado, the shortlist (from the media release) is below: 

Children's Literature Award ($15,000)

Young Adult Fiction Award ($15,000)

Fiction Award ($15,000)

John Bray Poetry Award ($15,000)

Non-Fiction Award ($15,000)

We have our fingers and toes crossed for everyone! Good luck.

To find out more about the prize and the festival, visit the State Library of South Australia website.

Browse posts by category
Browse posts by category

Courses starting soon

About us

The Australian Writers’ Centre offers courses in creative writing, copywriting, freelance writing, business writing and much more. Our practical and industry-proven courses will help you gain confidence and meet your goals faster!

Contact us

Phone: (02) 9929 0088 Email: [email protected] Head office: Suite 3,
55 Lavender Street, Milsons Point NSW 2061

© 2021 Australian Writers' Centre | FAQs | Terms, conditions & privacy policy


Back to top ↑

Nice one! You've added this to your cart