Australian novella competition now open

Novella competitions are rare. So rare that Seizure’s Viva la Novella has been the only stand alone novella competition for the past eight years.

In 2020, the competition is focusing on regional writers. Seizure has partnered with The Foundation for Australian Literary Studies (FALS), whose mission is to strengthen regional representation in Australian literature. This year, Seizure are looking to choose two winners for the Viva la Novella competition, one of whom will be from regional Australia.

What’s involved in the competition?
According to the press release the entries must be prose between 20-50,000 words and can be in any genre.

There’s no entry fee.

Each winner will receive $1000 and a publishing contract. They will earn royalties from the sale of their first book.

What kinds of novellas have won in the past?
According to the press release: “Past winners include Marlee Jane Ward, who won the Victorian Premier’s Literary Award for her young adult novella, Welcome to Orphancorp; and Mirandi Riwoe who was shortlisted for the Stella Prize for her novella, The Fish Girl. One of 2019’s winners, Offshore, was optioned by Sydney filmmaker, Partho Sen-Gupta.”

Co-founder of the prize, David Henley said: “There’s something about the novella length that encourages experimentation. Viva is our way of challenging a market normally resistant to the shorter form.”

Entries close Monday 31 Dec 2020, and, according to the press release: “The winners of Viva La Novella IX will be announced 1 September 2021 at a Live Big Reveal Party, coinciding with the publication of the Novellas.”

To find out more or to enter, visit the Seizure website.

Browse posts by category
Browse posts by category

Courses starting soon

Do you have a passion for writing? Save up to 40% off 50 courses SEE COURSES


Nice one! You've added this to your cart