Entries open for the Melbourne Prize for Literature 2015

Victorian writers, the Melbourne Prize for Literature and Awards is back and this time with a prize pool valued at over $100,000!

From the media release:

Entries have opened in one of Australia’s most prestigious literature prizes, the Melbourne Prize for Literature 2015 and Awards, which, valued at more than $100,000, will provide significant opportunities for reward and recognition for Victorian published writers across all genres and career stages.

This year marks the 11th year of the annual Melbourne Prize, which runs in a three-year cycle to benefit and demonstrate the importance of the vibrant creative sector in Victoria in literature, music and urban sculpture.

An exciting new award, the $20,000 Writers Prize 2015, is offered to Victorian writers for an essay – in addition five finalists will also receive $2,000 each.

The prize and awards offered this year are:

The $60,000 Melbourne Prize for Literature 2015, which is awarded to a Victorian published author whose body of published work has made an outstanding contribution to Australian literature, as well as to cultural and intellectual life. The author’s work can include all genres and forms for example, fiction, non-fiction, essays, plays, screenplays and poetry. There is no age limit for this prize. The Prize is supported by Principal Partner, The Vera Moore Foundation, and The Tallis Foundation.

The $30,000 Best Writing Award 2015 is awarded for a published work of outstanding clarity, originality and creativity by a Victorian writer. The work can be any genre, for example fiction, non-fiction, essays, plays, screenplays and poetry. There is no age limit for this award. The recipient will also receive Qantas International air travel to the value of $2,500 (including GST). This Award is supported by its sole patron, The Robert Salzer Foundation.

The $20,000 Writers Prize 2015 is a new category made available this year to continue the 10th anniversary celebrations of the annual Melbourne Prize. Entrants of the Writers Prize 2015 must be published authors and submit, by the close of entries, an essay of up to 20,000 words (minimum 10,000 words). The essay must include Melbourne, Victoria or Australia as part of its subject. In addition, five finalists will receive $2,000 each. The submitted work will be judged on its literary merit and creative freshness. The Prize is supported by the Copyright Agency’s Cultural Fund.

The 2015 judges comprise some of Australia’s most respected literary identities, including Lisa Dempster, Artistic Director & CEO of the Melbourne Writers Festival, Mark Rubbo OAM, Managing Director of Readings, Michael Williams, Director of The Wheeler Centre, and writers Helen Garner and Craig Sherborne.

The $6,000 Civic Choice Award 2015 will be presented to one of the finalists, in either category, based on a popular vote, following the announcement of all finalists on September 2nd and at the finalist exhibition at Federation Square. This Award is supported by Readings and Hardie Grant Books. Voters will have a chance to win an overnight stay at Sofitel Melbourne On Collins, Melbourne's hotel for the arts.

A Residency, supported by The University of Melbourne, will be awarded to a category winner.

Entry forms are available at www.melbourneprize.org. Entries can be made by the individual artist or by nomination.

Entries close on 20 July 2015.

To find out more or submit your entry, visit the Melbourne Prize website.

Browse posts by category
Browse posts by category

Courses starting soon

Do you have a passion for writing? Save up to 40% off 50 courses SEE COURSES


Nice one! You've added this to your cart