Sue Whiting

Sue Whiting is the author of more than 60 books for children and young readers and has worked in the publishing industry for over 15 years. Her most recent books are The Wheelbarrow Express, The Echidna Near My Place, which was a Notable Book in the 2023 Children's Book Council of Australia (CBCA) Awards, Pearly and Pig and the Lost City of Mu Savan, Tilda and The Book of Chance, which was shortlisted for the 2021 CBCA Book of the Year – Younger Readers Category. Other recent books include Good Question, Missing and Beware the Deep Dark Forest (published by Walker Books Australia). Sue’s nature storybook, Platypus, was a  Notable Book in the 2016 CBCA Awards, her picture book, A Swim in the Sea, won Speech Pathologists Australia’s 2014 Book of the Year, and her junior novel Get a Grip, Cooper Jones was a Notable Book in the 2011 CBCA Awards.

As an author, Sue has written many books: children’s non-fiction, picture books, middle grade and YA novels, and is published in Australia and overseas. Sue was Senior Commissioning Editor and Publishing Manager at Walker Books Australia for more than 10 years, where she worked with many Australian authors, including Margaret Wild, Glenda Millard, Meg McKinlay, Anna Branford, and fellow Australian Writers’ Centre presenter Pamela Freeman.

Sue is a highly experienced presenter who loves sharing her knowledge and passion for writing. Her combined experience as author and editor enables her to provide insightful guidance on how to shape ideas into gripping stories ready to send to publishers.

Twitter: @suewhiting4


Some of Sue's books include:

Presenter for:

No results found.

Nice one! You've added this to your cart