Peter Trute 1 week ago

Bernadette is a great teacher with an obvious deep knowledge of copywriting.

The assignments/writing exercises were the best part of the course - a chance to apply the skills.

I'm now aware of what's needed in copywriting as opposed to the news writing I've done throughout my career - they are quite different.

Lara Arden 2 weeks ago

I did my research to confirm that it was Bernadette's course that I wanted to do in Copywriting, and after comparing her to the competitors, I was happy with what I'd learned about Bernadette, and keen to proceed in my learning journey with her.

The course contained the right amount of information and exercises, without being too overwhelming for me. I was also able to complete it in a timely manner so that I could start implementing the knowledge quickly. I'm keen to do the other courses in Copywriting now too, with the SEO, and the Business course as well.

Bernadette was brilliant. She kept the learning and tutoring on point, entertaining, and efficient.

The course had in it all that I could learn and apply, plus included some well-thought-of resources. Thank you very much for starting me in this career.

It's given me the confidence to go and do something I've been curious about (copywriting) for some time. I've always thought that being involved in the world of advertising would be fun and creative. Now I have something valuable to contribute to this field, and I'm excited to proceed.

During the tutorials I probably thought several times, as I listened to them, "I'm so glad I chose to go with Bernadette. She's really knowledgeable, fun, and kind." Really, it was the teacher and her encouragement that made me feel like, "I can do this." :D

Choose AWC, and learn from Bernadette. She and her courses are amazing! You'll learn heaps, and graduate, ready to fly.

Just a heartfelt thanks :D

Lottie Osborne 2 weeks ago

Bernadette was fantastic at delivering tutorials that were super clear, engaging, and easy to follow. Her feedback was always very thorough and encouraging.

I really enjoyed completing the assignments and listening to the feedback, as I tend to learn the most while doing.

It's given me the confidence to pursue a career in copywriting.

100% do it, you won't regret it.

Just a big thanks to Bernadette!

Maya Imahashi 3 weeks ago

The course content was presented in such a clear and simplistic way, it made the online learning experience super easy and enjoyable.

I found Bernadette's teaching style to be absolutely fantastic. She delivered the content in a super casual and frank tone which allowed us to connect with her easily and quickly (keeping in mind we have never met in person). Not only did she firmly guide us in understanding the key concepts using real-life examples, but she also encouraged us to maintain a sense of curiosity and fun in our work - which is a motivational boost for me!

I enjoyed the high quality of the course content and delivery by the tutor, the easy access to our learning platform and the promptness of AWC staff in replying to our queries.

It has opened my mind to the creative and fun side of advertising and how I can 'play around' with words depending on my client and target audience.

Super easy and fun learning that caters to an array of writing interests. There's bound to be a subject or field that you can enjoy, whether for personal or professional development.

Thank you for making the last 5 weeks of online learning enjoyable for me!

Frankie Pinch 1 month ago

As a newbie freelance writer with a long-ago career in advertising, I needed to dive into copywriting skills. A few years ago, I enjoyed learning with Bernadette in a Local Government upskilling initiative plus my husband's business has engaged her for a workshop. To be honest, I was uncertain I would learn anything new!!! How wrong I was.

Bernadette's delivery style was warm and engaging, and her content was highly relevant. Leveraging her industry experience, she provided practical insight and useful steps in each learning module. Generously sharing key copywriting tips and skills, there were many powerful 'aha' moments!

I enjoyed unravelling copywriting concepts and re-learning what I thought I already knew, but didn't! I have a bag of new tricks! I'm looking forward to practising the skills I learned and adding them to my offer.

AWC courses pack a punch! I've done 5 courses so far, and every session, topic, module and presenter has provided me the real tools to improve my writing practice. If you're thinking about tweaking an area of your writing, or even if you just want to get started but don't know how, just dive in. No regrets!

Kate Russell 1 month ago

I've listened on and off to So You Want to Be a Writer, and have been aware of the AWC courses for some time. A recent redundancy gave me the time to enrol and learn a new skill.

Bernadette was fantastic. Her feedback was amazing, and being able to listen to the feedback for everyone was very instructive.

I enjoyed trying something new, learning a new skill, feeling more confident with my own abilities.

It has helped me realise how transferable the writing skills I have developed through curriculum writing are to different genres.

The teachers at AWC are top-notch and really know their stuff, the personalised feedback is invaluable, and the flexibility to do it in your own time helps anyone fit the study in.

Simon Welsh 1 month ago

I enjoyed the class, the tutor's skills and approach and the format. The tutor was knowledgeable, personable, engaging. I enjoyed seeing other students' attempts, too - it's good to get a rounded approach.

Melissa Ran 1 month ago

Really loved Bernadette's teaching style, personality and feedback. For me, the main takeaway was detail & specificity. The more words you use that relate to the target market's concerns the better.

I enjoyed the content and resources. The homework is designed to be very actionable and digestible. I didn't spend hours on it, but it targeted all the key skills which were put together at the end. Really well-designed structure.

I'm much more confident with copywriting and writing in general! It got the writing floodgate open. I never thought of myself as a writer, but I really do write a lot in my current job. Others in my organisation have called me a wordsmith before but I really didn't think so myself. Now I feel like I really can own that. I now have the tried-and-true tools to guarantee my work is at least above-average in its ability to incite action. With more practice, I can get quite masterful at this!

Took my copywriting to the next level. Ties together a lot of what I already did instinctively but now I have a handy checklist to ensure I'm always following best practice. Made me more confident in my writing. Highly recommend the course to anyone who needs to write to sell or influence (which is ALL OF US!)

Yvonne Tran 1 month ago

I like how Bernadette provided constructive criticism without being unnecessarily harsh/belittling. She was warm, friendly and very helpful.

I enjoyed being able to see the work of other people taking the course. Getting detailed and helpful feedback on my assignments (and being able to listen to feedback provided on others' assignments with more useful tips!)

I've realised there's a lot more to copywriting than meets the eye, but I'm eager to find out more.

As Bernadette says, people don't think you need formal training to become a good copywriter. That might be true for a (special/lucky) few, but for the rest of us, there's this brilliantly structured course that keeps you engaged every step of the way thanks to Bernadette's wisdom and wit.

Sam Ermer 1 month ago

Bernadette was great, her feedback was constructive and extremely helpful. I never felt as though I had done something wrong because she always explained her feedback in a positive way.

I enjoyed learning a practical approach to the art of copywriting, complete with examples and resources. I felt as though I was actually learning rather than hearing/reading academic theory. I remembered how much I enjoy writing and copywriting is something that I could happily do professionally.

AWC has a diverse range of courses available to anyone interested in writing, whatever their preferred genre/interest. The practical skills that they teach and their teaching style makes learning fun, plus there is a wealth of knowledge and experience to tap into. I'm certainly thinking of enrolling in more courses, just have to decide which ones.

Cate Creedon 1 month ago

This course absolutely clicked for me. It's exactly the kind of work that I want to be doing and I honestly cannot wait to get started!

I have so much respect for Bernadette, her knowledge, experience, and practical application to work are awesome!

I have always been a wordy writer, and I have found that this course has given me some tools around being succinct and tailoring what I write.

I loved the course that I completed, and felt absolutely encouraged and welcome to step into the world of copywriting. The course modules together with the assignments and feedback have given me the confidence and tools I needed to call myself a writer.

Amber Saidi 1 month ago

I watched the Zoom information session regarding copywriting and feature writing that was held a couple of months ago. Bernadette explained what copywriting was and I was instantly hooked. I felt that I would really enjoy this as a career and wanted to pursue it.

Bernadette knows her craft extremely well and is very generous with her time, study material and guidance. I would highly recommend anyone to learn from her; she has so much knowledge and is great at teaching it. I also appreciated that she taught the actual subject herself and was the one that graded our assignments as well. This provided consistency.

I realised that I can write for a living and have a stable income working from home. I never knew copywriting was an option until I did this course.

Lucy Barrett 1 month ago

The tutor was brilliant. No negative feedback at all. Very knowledge, clear and easy to understand.

I enjoyed the handouts we were given as resources for our future, I enjoyed the fact the course was online and self paced, I also enjoyed all of the assignments as I found them challenging but also really fun!

I feel like I now have more confidence when writing copy since learning about the headline formulas, features and benefits, linking words etc. I feel like it has made me a more confident writer.

I would say that the course content was outlined perfectly, that there was a right amount of learning/assignment, that it was easy to understand and that it was challenging but fun.

Amara Seabrook 2 months ago

The professionalism and quality of this course - in both content and presentation style - far exceeded anything I anticipated. The online platform and modalities have worked extremely well. Very smooth!

Bernadette is extremely knowledgeable and professional. Her presentations are rich in detailed information and her conversational style is friendly and relaxed. She maintains an encouraging tone in her feedback, while providing helpful and constructive criticism. An outstanding presenter!

I have gained a whole new skill set and awareness, which provides confidence and opportunities moving forward. It has been very rewarding starting to be immersed in a new genre and its culture. I have learned to be more economical with my writing and gained a bunch of strategies for arresting the attention of the reader quickly. The fact that there is some immediate income earning potential after this course is fantastic. Because these skills can be transferred to so many other areas of professional life and writing, it feels like being on the threshold of a whole new world of possibilities.

It has been great to discover that I can be dragged into the 21st Century and learn the SEO component of copywriting without feeling completely overwhelmed. Having come from a very off-line, classical, academic background, I have gained confidence that I can actually understand and do this!

AWC has been well-organised and easy to deal with. There is a great range of courses, which in my experience so far have been high quality and professional.

Thank you for introducing me to something wonderful and new!

Jacqui Wilkin 2 months ago

I was blown away by how much I learned on this course. It took me to areas and writing opportunities that I had no idea even existed!

Bernadette is just lovely! Her genuine love of copywriting and the knowledge she imparts, in such a down to earth way, and always positive, is not only thought provoking but informative and confidence-building.

The way in which the course was run and the fact that it was only 5 weeks gave me the opportunity to fit this in between work and family commitments. I enjoyed the many different aspects to copywriting and the tips, tricks and templates Bernadette imparted.

It has inspired me to want to be a copywriter! To want to and believe that I can actually make a living from my love of words, together with all of the relevant information and templates imparted by Bernadette. I'm looking forward to my journey with newly found self-belief!

I actually knew more about copywriting in my day-to-day life than I thought I did! Was just the terminology that was missing! The whole course was one BIG 'aha!' moment for me.

Even though this course was a challenge for me in every way, from personal to practical, I just loved the fact that, at the end of this course, I wanted to learn MORE!!

Excellent courses! Interesting, informative and relevant with manageable timeframes and fantastic tutors!

Maya Mitchell 2 months ago

The tutor was professional, funny, clever, encouraging, met you at your level - generally fab!

Superb - really eye opening course. AWC were doing online courses well before COVID, they set it up this way and they know what they are doing. This is not just a reaction to not being able to do things in person (as many seem to be).

Thank you very much to Bernadette and the whole team.

Kirsty Jones 2 months ago

This course is very practical and hands on, i.e. supplying 'formulas' and templates for copywriting; most courses don't offer this. I also like that it's online and I can do the class when it suits me each week.

Bernadette is great, very personable and interesting and her feedback was always really constructive and positive.

I liked the homework assignments each week; it was a good way to put into action what I had learned. I felt the course evolved at a good pace.

I like the practicality of the course and Bernadette made it all seem easy. It takes the fear out of staring at a blank page as I now have tools and templates to get started.

Great course, really practical and useful - whether you're just learning to write or have industry experience.

Lyndall Waters 2 months ago

I'd been hearing a little about copywriting as a growth field so I wanted to find out more about it as a possible side-hustle. The simple format of the sessions, the breakup of the content and the small assessments made this a really achievable 5 weeks of learning.

Bernadette is really easy to listen to, full of advice and stories, and I found her feedback to be both encouraging and informative, pushing me to further develop my work.

I enjoyed the real-world references to actual ad campaigns, and I also enjoyed having the verbal feedback on my work, and also hearing it for others too. This is a really powerful learning technique!

I think the course is a well-oiled machine that's running perfectly!

I've already started using some of the techniques in my current work emails. And I can see that there is a possibility for me to use these skills, and find the courage to call myself a copywriter.

Thanks for your approachable and encouraging manner, Bernadette. You really made me believe that I can become a copywriter!

Ashleigh Griffiths 2 months ago

I am interested in writing in general, and also part of my work involves writing copy for a website, brochures and emails. I joined as I thought having some training behind me would make me better at these tasks, as well as being interesting for me personally.

I found Bernadette to be very professional yet relatable. She was able to provide great tips and feedback in a manner that was easy to understand and put into practice.

I will be able to put these skills into practice in the aspects of my work that require copywriting. It has also given me skills that I may be able to use in future jobs and any writing that I do for myself.

I would definitely recommend it. Great course - thank you.

Barry Husking 2 months ago

Bernadette was excellent. I found the thorough feedback given to everyone to be very valuable. I enjoyed the challenge of the homework!

It may be a pathway to something new for me. Even if I don't take it that far, I will now think about what I've learned in this course whenever I have to write something. Great course.

If you want to improve your writing skills for whatever reason give the AWC a go.

Rhiannon Ace 2 months ago

Bernadette was so welcoming and friendly from the get go. Her welcome video made me feel so comfortable as she was so confident that absolutely anyone could become a copywriter. She also seemed to be able to read my mind and know exactly what reservations I had and why I should put them behind me and give this a go. Her feedback was always kind and constructive. She was able to tell me what I had done well and where I could improve and how. Best feedback I've ever had from any tutor!

I actually enjoyed the assignments! They didn't make me feel overwhelmed and they were short and sweet while allowing me to put the skills Bernadette had taught me to the test. I also loved the handouts Bernadette provided; they were all extremely helpful and are a great visual for me to keep and refer back to.

The instructors are friendly and helpful and make the learning process simple. Learning online and at your own pace is also a win, so that you can take your time and take it all in. You can also download the slides, audio and handouts so that you can come back to the material in the future.

Matthew Mather 2 months ago

Bernadette was an excellent tutor, and her feedback was targeted and useful. Well-chosen activities that honed the skills we were learning.

Excellent and practical course that is also great fun to take! It's given me the confidence to proceed with a career in writing.

Cath Berryman 2 months ago

I love writing. I watched the Creative Coaching event with Bernadette and Valerie and was so inspired! A slight hesitation on the cost - but, quite frankly, it was worth every cent!

I loved every minute of the course and learnt so much. The feedback gave me a great confidence boost. I loved the homework(!)

I've recently cut back my work to 4 days a week because I wanted to write. This course has given me clear direction and confidence.

Just do it - great quality content and it will change your life. Big thanks to Bernadette and AWC!

Emma Barker 2 months ago

Bernadette was very encouraging. She framed all the feedback in a positive way and gave plenty of suggestions about how we could improve our writing.

I enjoyed putting what I had learnt in the modules into practice and having a go at writing my own copy.

Bernadette has given me the confidence and belief that my stuff is actually good and that people would pay for this. I learnt this through the assignment feedback she provided. I am hoping to start up my own copywriting business in the near future.

Go for it. If you love writing there's so many different directions you can take it in.

Nicola Silva 2 months ago

Bernadette is well versed in copywriting, which shows. She was generous with her feedback and also any pointers to improve. I loved the sense of humour she brought to the course.

Completing the assignments and also reading the work of the other students was fun!

It has a pretty compact schedule and gives value for money. It has a great tutor and will definitely improve anyone's writing skills.

Lyn Halliday 2 months ago

The clarity of the course content, helpful templates and volume of content packed into 5 weeks exceeded my expectations - thank you!

Bernadette really knows her stuff and was a pleasure to learn from. Her feedback was both valuable and insightful and it was great to learn from everyone's examples, not just my own.

I liked Bernadette's relaxed but knowledgeable style, which came across in both the videos and the feedback recordings.

It has given me the belief and confidence that I can actually do this in the future, which is fantastic.

You can't go wrong. The tutors really know their stuff and the courses are high quality. Love the flexibility and mix of options with completely self-paced or guided (but flexible) time-constrained courses.

A huge thanks to Bernadette and to the AWC for another awesome course. I'm keen to take the next steps in copywriting and learn the business side of it.

Gerry Mezzina 2 months ago

Bernadette is great. Great delivery of material, and the feedback was great, particularly hearing the feedback across the group.

I enjoyed the assignments! It was great to quickly put what was learned into action.

The course gave me some awesome tools to help write with more structure, and great go to reference material. The biggest impact was giving me the chance to reflect on my previous work, and not be scared to say "I'm a copywriter". In doing this it unlocked my drive to start building my business as a copywriter.

Do it. Easy to access courses, with industry leading presenters, and a lot of fun - it didn't feel like studying!

Thanks Bernadette! Great intro course, and I'll soon be enrolling in the SEO course (after I do my two-day UX writing course next week).

Tracie Harvey 2 months ago

Bernadette was well versed in the subject and added life experiences which allowed participants to imagine situations which they may need to deal with.

I enjoyed writing the content, and having to meet word counts made me really think about how I was writing and to make it more succinct. I have been able to use the skills learnt to improve my writing in the workplace (and have received positive feedback from my boss on my writing).

It has made me hyper aware of the way "advertising" content is written - I look at every email now with new eyes and think about why it has caught my eye. Also, it has helped me to hone my report responses at work.

Do the course, it will change your life.

Tim Prideaux 2 months ago

Bernadette was fantastic: relatable, encouraging and deeply experienced. Her humility when offering assignment feedback - she would often pause and correct herself without making a big deal of it - was useful to witness. Rather than getting bogged in perfectionism, it felt like a demonstration of a productive mindset for doing quality work, getting paid and moving forward.

I enjoyed the consistently positive and encouraging tone. When you're nursing doubts about trying something new, the supportive voice makes a difference.

I'm confident I can make good on my goal to earn money by writing. That's a huge step towards my dream career switch.

The courses are focused, results-driven and delivered by lovely people.

Hazel Hodgkins 3 months ago

Bernadette was brilliant. Very generous and encouraging with her feedback. Really useful information provided on slides. Practically-minded and material well-paced.

The time commitment was perfect for people working and/or with other commitments.

I enjoyed getting verbal feedback from the tutor herself. The excellent slides and handouts. The pace. The assignments. Everything, really.

I can apply everything I learnt to my job right now. There are also so many ways I can improve my knowledge in this area based on the materials Bernadette provided. It really was a launch-pad course to put you on the right track and also help you figure out what you don't know and how to get it.

Do it. It's practical, affordable, fits into a busy schedule and you'll leave more enlightened and enriched than when you started. Guaranteed.

Bernadette - you are a legend.

Monique Gill 3 months ago

After a hiatus of nearly 12 years, I wanted to try my hand at writing again. I wasn't sure if I'd be better suited to copywriting or creative writing. I picked this course as a starting point in my new journey of discovery as it sounded fun, and because I am familiar with the AWC.

Bernadette is very knowledgeable and readily shares her experience. Feedback was positive and constructive.

I liked the structure of the course. It wasn't too overwhelming in terms of content volume. The hands-on exercises were fun. I liked the fact that I could listen to the tutorials at any time and that I could download the lessons to revisit content when I needed to.

Thank you, Bernadette, for your kind encouragement. Thank you, AWC, for a fun experience. I will enrol in another course soon!

Leanne Peros 3 months ago

I thoroughly enjoyed how relatable Bernadette made the lessons, and the extra tidbits of knowledge that she shared throughout the course. It made me even more excited about the content and the lessons.

Bernadette is very engaging, I was looking forward to listening to the lessons each week. She made the content easy to understand and gave really helpful feedback.

It's helped me gain confidence in my ability to write well and to write quickly. I want a career change and this course has given me the extra boost that I needed to know that I can go out there and be a copywriter.

It's fast paced but easy to learn. The lessons are engaging and the resources are extremely useful.

Sarah Reutersward 3 months ago

I found Bernadette's course content and presentation to be warm, interesting and enjoyable. Her feedback on the weekly assignments was very helpful.

The most enjoyable aspect for me was delving into the practice of thinking about words and their impact. I would happily become lost for hours, wording and rewording a headline or some content for an assignment, being driven by the thrill of the chase to uncover just the right combination! Definitely addictive!

I have discovered that this is something that I enjoy and CAN do!

If you are interested in exploring copywriting as a potential business or side hustle, AWC is the perfect place to start. The course content, length and cost are very manageable and will give you a taste of what is on offer. Bernadette delivers an interesting, insightful course in a warm and humorous manner. She has a wealth of industry experience and knowledge and gives constructive feedback on assignments. Whether it is to assist you with writing great copy for your own business, or other people's, you will learn plenty of useful strategies. Don't hesitate or doubt yourself - just enrol and start writing!

Sarah Moore 3 months ago

It delivered great 'bang for my buck'. I got exactly what I wanted at exactly the right price.

I now have a toolkit I can refer to quickly and easily to get the best results. I don't get bogged down in the detail.

Jenny MacCulloch 3 months ago

Bernadette was wonderful. So easy to understand and easy to listen to. Very knowledgeable and insightful. I really loved the audio in each module and hearing the feedback on everyone's submissions.

I feel much more confident to start putting myself out there as a freelance copywriter.

Do it! AWC are great and I'll look to do more courses with them down the track.

Margaret Whiskin 3 months ago

This was so practical, and I not only learned everything I needed but was given direction on where to find out more. Brilliant!

Bernadette was amazing. The feedback was spot on and her lecture style was engaging. The resources she supplied were exceptional.

I enjoyed learning the tricks of the trade and then putting them into practice. The way I read and write back cover blurbs, sales sheets etc. for work has improved and become more fun. I also now can actually see my future as a copywriter, which impacts my present!

It is incredible value for money.

Mel Shieldhouse 3 months ago

I found the course easy to follow and full of awesome info. Bernadette is a super engaging presenter and I found her feedback extremely helpful.

Loved the course - looking forward to the next one. Thanks Bernadette for being so awesome! I feel a lot more confident in my work and feel I can write copy a lot faster now.

Do it! It's money well spent.

Chantel Murphy 3 months ago

Bernadette was fantastic in her real-world approach. It was great to learn from someone so experienced and so willing to share thoughts and ideas in a really relatable way. It was great to be able to hear the other participants' feedback as well to learn from that.

I enjoyed all of it, but the assignments were especially good to be able to apply learnings and then get feedback.

I have started to look at opportunities in my local area where I could offer copywriting services and how I would improve different pieces of copy I come across. I've also enrolled in the freelance course and started to think about how I might position a side hustle copywriting service.

If you're looking to learn from credible writing experts who understand all the different reasons people write, and who can target material to various writing abilities and confidence levels in a really inclusive way, then consider a course with AWC.

Craig Smith 3 months ago

Going through the modules and doing the exercises was very enjoyable. The homework was not too onerous and got to the point. Very practical.

Bernadette gave objective feedback based on her experience as to what works and what doesn't.

I now realise that it is possible. I don't know what the next step is, but I'll dabble and find something. Knowing where to look for a newbie and having the confidence to give it a go is something that is important. It's easy to talk oneself into not taking action.

Thankyou!

Anna Ash 3 months ago

I'm working on some websites and need to refresh my skills. I did a Grad Cert in Editing and Publishing a few years ago, but feel the need to keep updated. Also would like to be able to travel and take my work with me.

The tutor was very professional, yet friendly and relaxed.

I didn't realise what I didn't know. Very useful for work I'm currently doing, so a confidence boost!

I think copywriting suits my style, 'less is more'.

AWC courses - some seriously useful fun. Online courses that are super-informative, well-prepared and user-friendly, but above all fun.

Alison Kable 3 months ago

I can't speak highly enough of Bernadette's presentations and feedback. I enjoyed the continuity, the course content, the ease of working online.

I can see an exciting pathway that involves writing which is what I wanted but was unsure about the format of how I could do this. I have since enrolled in two more subjects to complement the first.

Julie Fison 4 months ago

The course was brilliant! Full of practical, useful guides to getting started as a copywriter/content creator.

Bernadette is brilliant! She truly is a copywriting guru. Her lessons are well-thought out and easy to understand, her feedback extremely useful and the handouts are gold - incredibly practical and useful. I've already put the copywriting strategies and formulas to use. Bernadette, thank you for generously sharing your knowledge!

From the very first headline formula, I realised how little I actually knew about copywriting, but how easy it was to change all of that. I now feel confident that I have the strategies and formulas to write successful content for my own website and others.

Just do it! You won't be disappointed. Money well spent if you want to be copywriter.

Miranda Senkowycz 4 months ago

I liked that it was a 5-week course and that I could gain practical skills to help me boost my copywriting skills. I'm a SAHM with two small children doing some freelance copywriting on the side. But the fact that it's online and only requires a few hours' work a week made it easier than I thought! Sometimes courses claim to take only a few hours a week and then require much more, but not this one. This course provided enough of a challenge without going overboard so I never felt stressed as to how I would get everything done.

Bernadette is brilliant. I'm so glad I did this course.

I enjoyed everything! From the first lesson I gained practical tools to help enhance my writing skills. I also found the course very generous. The client brief document was very generous of you to provide. I didn't expect any specific resources like that, but that document will be a huge help to me.

It's definitely helped boost my confidence and I'm finding I'm writing jobs more quickly now.

Thanks so much, I loved this course!

Brooke Biro 4 months ago

I have been longing to write for a living after completing my degree in 2019. This course was just what I was looking for, being able to do it at my own pace.

Bernadette was fantastic. So knowledgeable, interesting and really drew you in.

I enjoyed the content and the assignments. It was actually fun!

Within 4 weeks of finishing I have launched my own copywriting business and have earned $3,000 in the first month.

Virginia Towers 4 months ago

I was interested in learning the theory behind copywriting since I'm technically working as one, yet without the formal tools. There are plenty of copy online courses, but I chose this particular course for various reasons: AWC's prestige, Bernadette's and Valerie's credentials and the Centre's reviews.

Bernadette is pragmatic, straight-forward and you can tell she KNOWS what she is talking about. I really liked her teaching style and the attention she gave each one of the students in terms of feedback.

The most enjoyable were the assignments and feedbacks. The most useful were the formulas and practical tools provided.

I used to write copy "instinctively", which was good. But now I include theory and strategy to that, which I believe makes my copy more powerful.

It's short, it's easy going, you actually LEARN tools, is not just abstract ideas or opinions, and you can get an experienced teacher to guide and rate your work. Go for it.

Elina Vihinen 4 months ago

I loved Bernadette's teaching style which is practical but provides you great strategic advice and is very insightful. Her feedback was constructive and precise. She said exactly what worked ("this is gold because...") and what needs more work ("interesting...")

I'm more confident with my writing. This course was challenging at times but it never felt like I can't do it or felt dull!

It's an all-inclusive copywriting course that is well worth the money. I'll enrol on the SEO course next.

Cara Lopez 4 months ago

Bernadette was extremely knowledgeable and gave great feedback.

I enjoyed learning more tips and tricks that are beneficial to my day job - and more!

I've learned how to be more intentional and considered in my writing. I'm not sure if there was just one "aha" moment - but being more aware of the words I use is one of my favourite results.

The Australian Writers' Centre courses are extremely helpful for my development as a professional writer - both in my career and in my own creative practice.

Peta Walz 4 months ago

I was pleased by the topics covered and the clear way the information was delivered. I feel I now have a clear understanding of copywriting fundamentals.

I thought the tutor was clearly very knowledgeable and experienced. She broke down key concepts in a way that was easy to follow and gave great practical advice. I appreciated her positivity and enthusiasm for the topic and her constructive criticism and obvious support.

I enjoyed the assignments and having the opportunity to put learning into practice. I especially enjoyed the final assignment where we got to pull everything we had learnt together. Each of the modules were obviously very useful, but I also think the final one and the examples that were used was my favourite.

I have a full-time job in another profession, but I now feel more confident doing copywriting myself in me role or giving feedback to copywriters. I am also considering taking up some freelance copywriting now, as long as I can make the time for it.

I've really enjoyed the last 5 weeks, I've picked up some very useful new skills and have already started using them. Thanks, Bernadette!

Claire Voss 5 months ago

I loved it!

Bernadette was fantastic! She has so much knowledge, she was great to listen too. I also thought she touched on each module perfectly - it was like any questions you might have had, she already knew and they were answered.

I enjoyed all of it but I love the assignments!!

I knew nothing about copywriting 5 weeks ago and now I feel I could really use the skills I learnt and put myself out there to get some paid work.

Do it, the courses are all fantastic, worth every penny.

Katerina Sakkas 5 months ago

I really enjoyed Bernadette's warmth, humour and incredible facility for giving cogent feedback while remaining supportive. Something else I liked: she is very even-handed, giving each student equal attention and enthusiasm.

I enjoyed being given a new approach to writing; I really enjoyed the strategic thinking that's involved in copywriting.

This course lets you into trade secrets, helps you write more efficiently and helps you think more strategically – all while playing with words. Bernadette’s feedback is incisive and encouraging. If you want to give your content writing an edge, or you’re thinking of striking out as a freelance copywriter, I highly recommend this thorough and engaging overview.

Jennifer Sheppard 5 months ago

I thought Bernadette's delivery was great throughout the course. The content of each module was clearly explained, and the feedback was very good, constructive, and useful.

I enjoyed the sense of achievement having completed assignments - which was increased once I'd received Bernadette's feedback!

I feel confident enough to set up a business as a Freelance Copywriter. Until two years ago I was a Technical Writer. This course showed me that I was capable of being more creative.

The enrolment process was easy, and the communication from AWC was excellent. The online components for the training were easy to follow and use, and the training was clear and well structured. Finally, the feedback was invaluable!

Thanks for this course, and for the great feedback Bernadette! I'm looking forward to my next course.

Gill Palliser 5 months ago

Initially I was attracted by the fact that I could make money from copywriting. But as the course went on, I realised it was so much more. I learned that there's a lot more to copywriting than I imagined. I love it.

Bernadette is an amazing tutor. Her knowledge seems to be unlimited. And she cares about what her students will gain from the course. I learned a lot from her feedback as well.

I realise that copywriting is what I want to do. I've done creative writing courses but this course has shown me that I don't want to write fiction. I've found my writing passion.

During a Zoom meeting, Bernadette asked us what we were passionate about. And I realised I could use copywriting to help people as well as to make money. I would call that a life turning point.

The AWC is an excellent place to learn all kinds of writing. All the tutors have amazing amounts of knowledge and talent in their fields of writing.

Elise Pritchard 5 months ago

Bernadette is awesome. She knows her stuff and is willing to share her secrets. Not only that, she's put it together in a way that makes it easy to understand. What a star.

I picked up my first job whilst doing the course so it has given me the confidence to reach out to businesses and state what I can do for them. I love the brief; what a gold resource.

Jump onboard these easy to access online writing courses; you really can earn money to pay for subsequent courses before completing the first!

Thank you. I look forward to digging up more gold in CopyClub.

Nikki (Nicole) Shilling 5 months ago

Bernadette was a great presenter and the material really useful and kind of common sense. All my dots were joined! She was a great tutor and seems like an interesting and fun person!

I actually really enjoyed crafting the homework and thinking about how I might apply it all to my own business as well as help my friends and hopefully future clients with their businesses.

Thanks all! I'm looking forward to doing the next course.

Kelsey Moore 5 months ago

The tutor was amazing - very detailed feedback each week.

It was easy to fit into my week, and great to have a practical element with detailed feedback.

My writing has improved and I'm much more confident!

Great value for money!! Easy to fit into your busy lifestyle.

Tania Holland 5 months ago

The tutor was very thorough, clear and supportive. Feedback was delivered in a kind and constructive manner.

I enjoyed discovering that copywriting is more formulaic than I'd realised. Also, being able to see the submissions and feedback of other participants.

I plan to use it to kick-start a career in a niche where I already have a presence

The course is excellent value. The pacing is easy to keep up with and the support and feedback is incredibly useful.

Thank you to Bernadette for the great leadership. I'll be signing up to the other courses too.

Judy Anderson 5 months ago

It was both short enough and long enough at the same time to keep me interested, whilst gaining a better understanding of copywriting. The feedback was very clear and easily understood.

I enjoyed discovering I can write and with practice have room for improvement. Prior to the course, I felt I had the creativity to write, but not the skills to make what I was writing effective or have an impact.

Whilst you hear the saying 'practice makes perfect', I always felt that writing was a skill either you have or you don't. But early on in the course Bernadette made a comment along the lines of: the more you write the easier and faster it becomes. Personally, I've always found it takes me hours to write material that is only mediocre and therefore I avoided writing. Bernadette's advice makes sense, I guess. I illustrate as part of what I do and the more I illustrate the faster the ideas arrive and the more creative I am. I feel I'm now applying this logic to all writing that I do.

I'd highly recommend the course for anyone wanting to gain an understanding of copywriting. Totally worth the money spent and a great confidence builder for a very unconfident beginner writer!

Taylor Maher 5 months ago

Loved it. Really good to reinforce things I thought I knew and great for new skills.

The tutor was excellent. Very engaging and the recorded feedback was excellent. Short, relevant chunks of information delivered using real-life, recent examples.

It's really helped me get to the point, focus on everyday language and follow a proven structure.

I couldn't recommend it more highly. Whether you do so for business or pleasure, if you enjoy writing and would like to sharpen up your skills, absolutely consider this course.

Sandra Randall 5 months ago

I found Bernadette very professional and knowledgeable. I loved her sense of humour and her feedback was useful. I love that we can hear everyone's feedback as we can all learn from each other. Having taught online myself I thought it was great how engaging she was. Thanks Bernadette :)

I enjoyed the assignments as they were bite sized but practical and gave good practice of what we were focussing on that week

The tips and formulas mean my writing is more to the point and systematic now.

It is practical and a useful skill to learn ... and competitively priced.

Thank you.

Rebecca Longney 5 months ago

I listened to the 'So you want to be a copywriter' podcast and loved learning about the world of copywriting from Bernadette. I decided I wanted to know more so I enrolled in the course.

I was so impressed with how practical the course was and the structure was great. It was easy to fit in around my other commitments.

Bernadette is a dedicated tutor and she really wants you to succeed. The course content was really engaging and Bernadette's feedback was so encouraging and constructive.

I loved the assignments and had a blast completing them. They were very manageable, even during a busy week, but creatively they were very challenging.

It has opened up another potential career path for me and reinforced my belief in myself and my abilities.

Once you understand the formulas copywriters use, it's easy to see how you can sell anything.

I would encourage anyone thinking of doing a course with the AWC to go for it! The tutors are passionate and the courses are affordable and well-structured.

Gina Edwards 5 months ago

Bernadette is a generous and engaging tutor. She is so easy to listen to and I never once got bored or distracted listening to the presentations. Her feedback each week was insightful, encouraging and always positive. I found her down-to-earth teaching method very appealing and inspiring.

It has given me the confidence to start working as a copywriter, something I did not expect after a five-week course. However, I feel Bernadette equipped us with a set of skills to find potential clients and launch our copywriting career and really make it our own.

The Australian Writers' Centre has fantastic short courses that deliver exactly what they state. I was able to commit to the course knowing that I could manage it each week in between my other commitments.

I have already recommended the copywriting course to a fellow writing friend who hopes to do it once she's finished her current course.

A big thank you to Bernadette and her wonderful style of communicating. It made learning a real joy. :-)

Robyn Bignell 6 months ago

Bernadette is very easy to listen to - a great communicator and gives very good feedback.

I loved the creative aspect of developing copy for the assignments each week… And it wasn't too arduous or stressful!

I feel so much more confident in sitting in front of a 'blank page' now.

The lesson on SEO copywriting was fantastic - I feel so much more knowledgeable about this previously murky area.

Do it!!

Nick Burdeu 6 months ago

I really wanted to learn a new skill and this course seemed like a good opportunity to do so. I'm thankful I did it, though. It's been awesome. I was worried initially that it would just be some bland and superficial course where I would just be inundated with jargon. It was great. Every week we did something new and interesting.

Bernadette was a great teacher. It was a pleasant surprise that she was able to explain everything in layman's terms, rather than try and incorporate as many adjectives or nouns as she could. She seemed to have a real handle on everything she was talking about.

I really enjoyed learning the seven steps to selling and also about search engine optimisation. It was all a really great insight. I honestly don't think that there is anything more that Bernadette could do to improve this course. It's perfect.

I guess this course just showed in very simple terms how copywriting is done. It really helped me conceptualise everything I had learnt previously about marketing and apply it in a meaningful way.

It is a great insight and entry point into digital marketing. I'll be certain to refer this to my friends if they are interested.

Thanks a lot Bernadette. It was an awesome experience from start to finish.

Catherine James 6 months ago

I was looking for a new career and had always wanted to do something with writing. This course seemed to offer a tangible pathway to employment.

I very much enjoyed the live feedback because it was engaging and you felt like your work mattered. Some self-paced courses with no feedback leave you feeling quite cold!

The SEO topic was very enlightening although quite dense at the same time. Bernadette has done a good job of making it accessible for us to learn more.

These courses are really engaging! Thank you. You run a great program with this course and all the others encouraging people to write.

Jillian Hodgson 6 months ago

The tutor was top notch! I found Bernadette easy to listen to, and appreciated hearing about her experience as part of the lessons.

I enjoyed the tips and tools! They take the pain out of the process so writing can be enjoyed!

The course work is thorough without being overwhelming. And the assignments make it easy for you to put what you've learnt into practice and get feedback.

Maria Parenti 6 months ago

Bernadette knew her stuff. She's friendly, down-to-earth. She created a course for beginners that even my 80yr mother could have a go.

If you wanna know how to write copy for Google, at least complete the AWC Copywriting Essentials.

I've been doing AWC courses since 2016 and there is still much more fun learning to be had.

Kristy Tracey 6 months ago

Bernadette was awesome! I enjoyed the course. Bernadette made learning fun and easy.

I enjoyed the easy-to-understand delivery and the reassurance and support that was delivered throughout the recordings.

My entire outlook on my writing career and its potential has changed. Like the course has lifted the illusion that it required great skill and technique to be successful. This course has shifted my mindset from "can't" to "why the hell not?"

You won't regret it! The work is simple to understand and fun to do.

Jaimie-Lee Roberts 6 months ago

Bernadette's feedback was valuable and much appreciated. I enjoyed her commentary throughout the modules and they were easy listening.

I like that the modules are not outdated and are relevant to the industry currently. I also enjoyed being able to see the rest of the class’s response to the homework.

Just like to thank Bernadette for such a great course outline.

Colleen Gee 6 months ago

Bernadette was amazing. She was very thorough and constructive in her feedback. She also provided lots of information on how to continue to receive support once we completed the course.

I enjoyed the opportunity to actually think through and practice copywriting.

It has given me more confidence. It has opened up the whole area of writing for me. I discovered how much I already knew and that I did have some writing skills that can be valuable and useful to others.

The courses are elementary to follow, extremely comprehensive and fun to participate in; the tutors are supportive, and feedback is constructive and effective when taken on board.

I am very excited to get started.

Erin Burrows 8 months ago

The tutor was very engaging to listen to. Knowledgeable. Provided personal experiences as examples. Most importantly, provided tailored feedback, making this course personable and student-focused.

I enjoyed putting the course content into practice through the assignments. Thereby showing us, we CAN do it!

By giving me the tools I need, the course has bridged the path forward for me to start out! Now, I just have to find self-confidence to overcome imposter syndrome lol.

Lisa Mason 8 months ago

The tutor was down to earth, easy to listen to, knowledgeable, professional. The homework modules were quick and easy but also fun

I feel like I now understand what copywriting is which has meant I am more confident in exploring this option as a potential career change.

Iris Cassell 8 months ago

Bernadette provided fantastic content that I felt was really good value for the cost of the course. She was easy to understand in the video modules and it was very easy to follow the course process and expectations. She gave very constructive feedback to everyone. I gained confidence after the feedback and am now a bit sad that I won't have anyone telling me that I have done something brilliant next week.

After the initial shock of the publishing of our warts and all copy to everyone, I found it helpful and I learned a lot from others’ input and their creativity.

I have gained confidence and now just want to do this for life.

Hannah Brooks 8 months ago

I didn't know what to expect but I really enjoyed the course, and really learnt some great new skills from it, so thank you.

Bernadette was great. Really engaging delivery. Great tips for structuring content, which is what I was after. She inspired me to think about things differently for my writing and my business.

The assignments were good, and feedback useful. All in all I enjoyed the course.

Jazmin Saetrang 8 months ago

I absolutely loved learning from Bernadette! I learned so much each week and it was really cool to watch my writing get better (and easier) just with a few tricks. Her feedback was always so encouraging as well as helpful. I was really able to learn from it and see things I could do to improve next time.

I loved it all! The videos with the audio was really engaging and the content was amazing. I loved that all the assignments were really practical and we actually got to put what we learned into action.

My ability to come up with things to write has taken off. Having a guide for how to come up with and write copy has been so fundamental and I feel more prepared than ever to get running with my freelance writing business. So, so thankful I chose this course!

It's absolutely worth the cost and I can personally recommend it. I'm excited myself to take further courses in the future!

Rose Grubits 8 months ago

The tutor was excellent. It was interesting to have feedback provided in audio form, rather than just written.

The videos were easy to watch and well structured. I loved seeing what all the other students were coming up with. Also enjoyed listening to the feedback and hearing Bernadette's thoughts and ideas on our assignments.

It has given me new confidence that I could 'put myself out there' as a copywriter and potentially create an income stream from this. The course has shown that copywriting is not especially difficult, but that there are formulas and 'tips' to use to give the copy more impact and make it more successful.

The formulas (and tricks) explained in the course are all definitely being used out there in the 'real world', especially in advertising. And once they're pointed out, you start seeing them everywhere!

I'd say that the course is a good introduction to copywriting and can be easily undertaken in your spare time without any stress/pressure.

A big thank you to Bernadette for tutoring the course.

Gemma Patience 8 months ago

I heard Bernadette Schwerdt on the So You Want to be a Writer Podcast and thought she sounded like she would be a great tutor. I was a little concerned I wouldn't have enough time each week for the course, but the workload was fine.

Bernadette was knowledgeable, friendly, and encouraging. I enjoyed learning the rules of copywriting and then getting in there and giving it a go.

The Australian Writers' Centre is your go-to place for courses on all forms of creative and professional writing. Each course I have completed has provided me with the comprehensive foundation, practical skills, and confidence required to seek work in the industry.

Thanks so much!

Lyndall Ryan 9 months ago

I have an interest in copywriting and looking at shifting into the area to supplement my income. I have completed various courses with the AWC and know they are great. Our tutor had a very solid background in this area so there was no doubt it would be worthwhile.

Our online tutor was excellent. We had great constructive feedback on all assignments, as well as additional tips and tricks and valuable handouts and information to move forward in this area. Greatly appreciated.

I enjoyed all of it, but I would say applying what we had covered in lessons to the assignments was really rewarding. Then getting the feedback on those was great.

It has made me realise that I am capable of taking up a path in Copywriting after completing this course, and just need to get out there and do it.

Kate Taylor 9 months ago

Bernadette is a true professional. She gives expert advice which really sticks with you - not only in the clear content she delivers, but also in her friendly, conversational tone. Her modules don't feel like stiff lectures at all, which I found really engaging and refreshing.

The downloadable audio format was great. I'm an auditory learner, so this suited me perfectly and really allowed me to get a lot out of the course. It also allowed me to listen to the modules any time - from train journeys to treadmill sessions - which was really convenient.

I've learnt to let go of the university essayist in me and be less "precious" about my writing. I now don't get so attached to what I write and I no longer feel the need to impress readers with big words and complex language. I've learnt that less is sometimes more and that plain English is more impressive than verbose academic English.

I'm looking forward to doing the Content Writing Course next and continuing to improve my writing skills.

Wendy Cheek 9 months ago

I thought Bernadette was wonderful; her commentary was supportive, measured and extremely insightful. I appreciated her humour and how authentic the whole course was!

I enjoyed the practical aspects with current resources threaded throughout the modules.

I'd never considered this style of writing till now - after reading the reviews and doing the course - it's a real possibility.

I really liked all the resources that were provided - but again Bernadette was so easy to listen to - great presentations.

The AWC is a very comprehensive, professional organisation that provides you with so many potential opportunities - should you wish to take them.

Janelle Ballenden 10 months ago

I really liked Bernadette - very down to earth with a good sense of humour - easy to listen to and her presentations were easy to follow. She was a great tutor offering extensive and valuable feedback.

I loved the feedback - not just for my assignments but feedback on others' assignments, too.

It's given me confidence - I've never had any formal writing training - just worked off a bit of on-the-job training and a bit of intuition. Having someone critique my work is a great boost for my confidence. It means I'm on the right track.

I'd say, 'You should do this course because you learn quite a lot in a short time, and can access the material for 12 months so you can go over any of it again at your leisure.'

Rebekah Moore-Hart 10 months ago

I was moving into more copywriting at work, and wanted to know the essentials! I've also loved writing for a really long time, and have wanted to make it more of a career.

Thanks so much for this course! It was incredibly enjoyable, and there is so much value within it.

Bernadette is so engaging, incredibly knowledgeable and warm, and I so appreciated her humour and down to earth nature. I feel like she shared so much with us and am incredibly grateful for that generosity.

I really enjoyed the structure of the course, the mercurial nature of Bernadette's delivery (because my mind works in a very similar way!), her openness, and loved the chance to connect with and learn from classmates as well. A fantastic course overall!

I feel like it is possible now to re-direct my course and choose the thing that fills me with contentment. Bernadette has made it feel possible to pursue writing as more than just a pastime, and it's incredibly inspiring to remember how bountiful it is as a path for constant learning and development.

It's an energising platform full of possibilities - you will find something that will light your light there!

Joanne Roberts 10 months ago

I just attended a 5- week Copywriting Essentials course.

Here's what happened.

    • Eyes opened - tick
    • New skills learnt - tick
    • Provided with tips and tricks of the trade to get you started - tick

(sorry, I couldn't resist trying it with a headline formula!)

I've been a teacher trainer for a long time and have been looking for a new direction for freelance work. I saw a few adverts and Facebook posts for copywriting and it piqued my interest. I was attracted to this course in particular as it was through the AWC.

The course was comprehensive and I loved how you could download all the audio files, handouts and the slides easily.

Bernadette is very knowledgeable and willing to share her experience with us. I loved how she is so enthusiastic about her industry. It was very encouraging to hear from her all the time that this is a growth industry and that anyone can do it (with some training and skill!).

Her feedback was very useful and detailed. I loved how we got to hear all the feedback of all the course members. I listened to all of them and wrote notes for each one.

I've really enjoyed being creative with words and realising that maybe this is a job that I could do. The course has given me a taste of the industry and I feel excited about maybe becoming a part of it.

Shannon Benton 10 months ago

Bernadette is an absolute copywriting superstar! Couldn't have asked for a better person to guide me on my copywriting journey.

I enjoyed her practical advice, paired with her sense of humour. She's delightful.

Megan Ralfe 10 months ago

The course provided a complete toolkit to enter the workforce as a copywriter. It was super practical, the information was generous and well-delivered, and left me at the end feeling like I could make the step into paid work.

Bernadette was excellent. She is very knowledgeable in her profession, and generous in sharing that knowledge. She communicates effectively, and in a down-to-earth way. She has developed useful templates and strategies for effective copywriting which she stepped me through logically - this built me up to a sense of competency and confidence in my ability to work as a copywriter.

I enjoyed writing creatively. I loved the excitement of new horizons and learning new skills, after a long time of same-same. I also really liked the dynamic nature of tailoring ideas to hook different target markets, and doing this quickly (challenging my tendency towards perfectionism).

Doing this course has ignited the spark of new adventure within me. It reminds me of when I was younger, when I felt there were lots of exciting things waiting to open up to me. It has made me realise how long it's been since I have felt that excitement for the unknown. Being a Mum has both expanded and contracted my universe in profound ways. The contraction has been tough, so it is great to feel inspired by new horizons!

It is a great kicking off point to begin working as a copywriter. It is a small time and financial investment to then be able to work and earn writing copy. Within the profession there is a lot of scope to start small, be flexible, and build your business as you build your skills.

Thank you, I have really enjoyed this course :)

Katia Spies 10 months ago

Bernadette has a wonderful way of breaking things down into bite size pieces and making each step seem easily achievable. She is a perfect coach for those of us who need to overcome our self-doubt, procrastination and perfectionism.

I enjoyed the well-structured step-by-step breakdown.

Thank you AWC and Bernadette. No doubt you will see more of me.

Emilie Deacon 10 months ago

I was looking for something accessible that I could manage while working full-time crazy hours that change without notice. I reviewed the material the course would cover and thought it would be perfect. It didn't disappoint.

Bernadette was great - such a knowledgeable lady.

My mind is somewhat blown at how much there is to learn on this topic and how much I have yet to learn.

My entire life has been spent writing for a specific purpose, be it in news reporting or compiling statements and briefs of evidence for trial, and yet, copywriting was completely new to me. The strategies and processes in the course were extremely helpful and I learned just how much I still have to learn.

I got so much out of this - I can't think of a single reason why you wouldn't do it. Thankyou!

Carolyn Hall 10 months ago

I thought the tutor was great and explained everything very well.

I always had the stigma that I was bad at writing, but with the process she taught us, I now have a method to follow.

I enjoyed the assignments and realising; hey, I can actually do this!

I got a lot out of the course - working in the same industry a lot of information was not new to me, but it gave me a huge dose of confidence to say, "I'll take a crack at that" and I did and it actually worked.

Callum Methven 10 months ago

There was not a wasted word in any of the lectures. It was far more interesting than I expected it to be.

The tutor was professional and approachable.

I now feel confident enough in my copywriting abilities to start looking for work in the field.

It is a fantastic opportunity to upskill with the help of a reputable institution.

Michelle Thomas 10 months ago

Bernadette knows her stuff. She explains tough concepts in an easy to understand format. Her calming and warm nature squashes that inner critic and helps you focus on learning and giving it a go. The cadence of weekly assessments keeps you motivated.

It removes the belief that you need to be feeling creative all the time to write. It shows how through logical steps and appropriate groundwork you can get it done. It prevents writer's block. It also makes you look like a professional.

It's easily digestible; you can balance it out with work and home life and in your own time. It provides foundational knowledge to help you on your journey as a copywriter - but you get out what you put in - do the work!

Thank you!

Mark Yule 10 months ago

Bernadette impressed as knowing the content very well, and excelled as a communicator, providing a well-structured short course, and well considered constructive feedback. It provided many key insights into copywriting for a beginner and useful tools to get started in the industry.

It made me very eager to get started in developing my skills further and starting to practice my copywriting as soon as possible.

AWC provides a well-structured short starter course for those wanting to gain some really important insights into developing effective copywriting skills.

Jordan Pollard 11 months ago

The course gave me the confidence I needed to get started and arm me with enough knowledge and applicable lessons to keep going. Loved it!

I had a wonderful time learning. I wasn't sure what my expectations were but it was very informative.

The tutor was very friendly, very knowledgeable and super helpful. Bernadette had a great way of explaining things - I could listen for hours.

I entered not knowing much... and now I know enough to feel comfortable to write copy - and that was the goal!

Chareli Seet 11 months ago

Even though the class was not conducted face-to-face or via Zoom, Bernadette had a way of being very personable with every student through her weekly feedbacks. I valued every single feedback she provided because there was always something to learn.

The feedback and assignments were very interesting and challenging.

Made me feel quite energized about the ways you could write copy.

Tricia Allen 11 months ago

Bernadette was clear and concise. She was able to impart industry specific examples and personal anecdotes to make the course personable and informative.

I have now started my own freelance writing business and am learning how to construct a website in WordPress. My life has changed completely.

There's no Fluff and Bubble in these courses. The learning is targeted and you can also have fun as part of the process.

Thank you for the opportunity to complete this course and special thanks to Bernadette for her warmth and guidance. I have a whole new vocabulary that I am keen to use in practice. Who'd have thought I could have an in-depth conversation about SEO 5 weeks ago? I certainly didn't.

Fiona La Torre 11 months ago

I was recently made redundant, and was wanting to upskill in the area of marketing, which I have a degree in from many years ago. This course was recommended as a great way to do this. Plus, it was something that was new to me.

Bernadette was fantastic, entertaining and insightful. I found myself really enjoying the audios and I gained a lot of insight into the world of copywriting. Plus, she always provided valuable and detailed feedback, which I really appreciated.

Surprisingly, I enjoyed the homework assignments. I was a little nervous about doing 'homework' again after so long, but I thoroughly enjoyed being able to have a bit of fun, and be creative, with the assignments.

It made me realise that I still had a passion for writing, and that I would ideally like my next career path to be on the creative side. I could definitely see myself pursuing a career in copywriting.

The whole course was one major learning moment for me. Everything was new to me.
I had a positive learning experience with AWC. You will receive valuable information, taught within a supportive and easy to navigate online environment.

Olivia Nankivell 11 months ago

AMAZING content from Bernadette. It was concise, interesting, and practical.

Bernadette was fabulous. She made the effort to provide detailed feedback every single week.

I enjoyed the practicality of the content. I found myself glued to the screen and frantically taking notes! Every single module was extremely detailed, yet easy to understand. Bernadette created a complete snapshot of each module and reiterated important points. I loved her real-world examples and how she drew from her own experience as well.

I feel more confident to write words that sell products and ideas. As someone who wants to move into the environmental/sustainability space, I believe these skills will be useful to change hearts and minds.

I would say if you want to write in the digital space, sell products and ideas with words, or create motivating copy - this is the course for you.

Thank you so much.

Claudia Bonazzi 11 months ago

This course reflected exactly what I was looking for: a general overview on Copywriting from someone specialised in the field. The flexibility was also perfect.

Definitely Bernadette is a well-suited tutor for this course and gives a lot of insights on the job, which I found very useful. She is very knowledgeable, helpful and her handouts were a godsend!

I really appreciated sharing opinions and points of view with fellow classmates and the chance to ask direct questions to the tutor. Also receiving feedback was something you're always excited about.

I feel like it made the whole writing process more approachable, easy, and smooth to begin with. Moreover it sure improved my confidence and made my copy more results-oriented.

Take the course because it will give you a 360° view on copywriting, it will test your abilities, and will most certainly improve your assets. Hopefully, it will also be a starting point for you to go deeper into it if you're really interested. Bernadette speaks from experience which is the best way to learn!

Megan Daniher 11 months ago

Listening to the podcast "So you want to be a writer" and the ep with Bernadette really piqued my interest. I decided to dig deeper into what copywriting was and the more I found out the more interested I have become. Natural progression was to book into this course.

The course has over-delivered for me. The tutor was approachable and professional. Each module was well planned and varied with no unnecessary overlapping.

I now want to pursue a career in copywriting. 100% enjoyed this course, thank you.

Selma Papapavlou 11 months ago

I've always wanted to know more about copywriting and whether it was an industry and career I could further pursue but didn't want to do a degree and spend years studying it. I was looking for a short course. This was an introductory, 5-week course that only required a few hours a week. It didn't feel intimidating. It was perfect for a novice like me. Also, I could fit it in with my schedule of being a 1st time mum with an active toddler and not spend hours doing so.

I loved it! I finally found my calling and would love to further explore this industry. The tutor was real. Her real-life knowledge was helpful. I think she would be someone you could easily approach if you had any queries about this industry.

SEO intrigued me. I would like to learn more. Also what surprised me was what I was capable of producing in such a tight time frame.

I found my calling! I want to further pursue copywriting. I am kicking myself that I DIDN'T DO THIS SOONER! I wish I did it in my 20s! Or even a few years ago! There's no time like the present and NOW I want to further develop my skills and eventually work as a freelancer. I have a LOT to learn! I have never felt more certain and excited about what I want to do for a living.

I think I had my "aha" moment when I completed my 1st assessment. It didn't feel daunting or difficult. It felt enjoyable and exciting. I gained clarity. I thought, "I can do this. I can actually see myself doing this for a living.”

The AWC has short courses that you are able to fit into your busy life and still feel like you've learned new skills and achieved something productive.

Thank you for continuously sending me email mailers. Eventually something clicked and I made it all work!

Vasantha B 11 months ago

Bernadette has been a great tutor. Every word she spoke was very reassuring and encouraging. Particularly the feedback was very informative and educational.

Each module was well designed and structured. The assignments and feedback were most enjoyable.

I have learnt how to write for others to read. I can't wait to start my journey as a copywriter.

Heather Poppelier 11 months ago

I found the weekly presentations very interesting, well delivered and with great supporting resources.

It was fantastic to learn a new skill and engage my brain - especially since I have been on reduced hours for many months now due to COVID. The course gave me something to focus on and direct my energies into.

It has given me the courage to pursue copywriting as a career. While it still seems very daunting, I feel that it is possible and achievable thanks to the repeated encouragement and demystification of the field by Bernadette.

Great online platform and easy to work to the module deadlines. Simple and effective delivery.

Saskia van Graver 1 year ago

I was interested in learning a new skill which could potentially provide a source of income. Bernadette was incredibly knowledgeable. I would have no hesitation in recommending this course to others. It's a stepping stone to your new copywriting career.

Chrystal Psaltopoulos 1 year ago

I wanted to refresh my skills and learn more about how to write great copy.

Loved the course and was particularly pleased to see that Bernadette provided feedback for all our assignments.

Highly recommended - very beneficial, easy to follow and great feedback from assignments.

I feel more confident to say I can write copy now. Thanks Bernadette for a great course! I look forward to doing more!

Annette McQuarrie 1 year ago

I was actually looking at a creative writing course being offered when I came across the copywriting course. I was impressed by the course content and Bernadette's experience. I decided it would complement my editing and give me another job angle.

It is well-paced and perfect for someone starting out or wanting to do a refresher.

Bernadette is an engaging, informative instructor with a wealth of knowledge which she shares with such joy. Great sense of humour and clear communication skills. Her feedback was spot on and extremely helpful.

I enjoyed listening to Bernadette and learning from her. She knows so much and it's great to have the option of revisiting the material for 12 months to cement everything she has taught us.

I've expanded my business to include copywriting, I've revamped my website and as a result, I've been offered some ongoing work with an established publicist.

Definitely do a course. There are so many to choose from, the tutors are top quality and you can achieve wonderful results. Possibly better results than you could have anticipated.

Rosemary Hobern 1 year ago

I wanted someone to bring together all the essentials so I could get a jump on starting freelance work. I thought there might be a lot of negative feedback, which would be discouraging when you're just starting out. In fact, it was all a very positive and fun experience.

The tutor has a great voice - pleasant and positive and absolutely no verbal tics, which is incredibly rare. The feedback was helpful and invariably positive.

I liked the gradual structure. I learned quite a bit without realising it and feel a lot more confident about possible copywriting interviews. I can now discuss headlines, SEO and social media marketing with the best of them!

Starting to freelance in your fifties is daunting when you know that most of your competition grew up with computers and social media. I have the advantage of having written for years, including several novels, and I probably had a more rigorous grammatical education, but they have the advantage of being at ease with the jargon and social media. None of this is rocket science, but I feel much more confident about the concepts now.

It has increased my confidence tenfold. That none of this is actually terribly difficult, once you switch your brain into copywriting mode. Bernadette will explain how to do that. It's also a lot of fun and I think I could make a success of it. You'll have a good tutor and a clearly set out course. You'll learn a lot without realising it and it will help you feel confident in a quickly changing world.

Just thanks to Bernadette. I was pretty nervous about this course but I had fun and learned a lot.

Mel Morey 1 year ago

The tutor was very knowledgeable. Explained things well. Personable. Delivered feedback with respect. I enjoyed the feedback.

As I work in local government, I have been taught to write in a certain way. This course has reinforced some aspects, but has expanded my mind in other aspects. Very enjoyable, real world examples, quite a few 'aha!' moments.

Louise Wallace 1 year ago

Very good. Bernadette explained things very well. Simple and easy to understand.

I liked the assignments; they were fun to do and didn't take too long to complete. I also liked hearing the feedback each week.

It was very helpful - the assignments were fun, the content was enjoyable and it only took a couple hours per week.

Boby Tariq 1 year ago

My online tutor, Bernadette, always gave constructive feedback which in turn helped me to learn further. I enjoyed the feedback sessions.

Training under Bernadette is always a privilege and joy. I am entering a new profession through and after this course.

Thank you!

Michael Caisley 1 year ago

I am looking to take my career in a new direction and want to leverage my love of writing into a way to generate income. This course struck me as a great first step in that direction. I was unsure if copywriting was something that I could do, but this course alleviated that concern.

The course gave me confidence that I didn't have before.

Bernadette was terrific. Very informative, came across as really knowing her stuff, and was easy to listen to in the audio lessons. Her feedback was concise and very helpful. The assessments were challenging, which was very enjoyable.

This course has shown me that there are other possibilities, professionally, for me out there. I've been unhappy in my current career and one big reason that I don't make a change is that I convinced myself there was nothing else I could do. This course showed me that I was wrong about that. Early on when Bernadette talked about how she just decided she was a copywriter, it was a real eye opening moment.

Just a big thank you to Bernadette and the AWC team for this course.

Donita Richards 1 year ago

I have started a freelance writing business and needed to upskill.

Bernadette was fantastic, thank you. Bernadette's voice and instructions are very clear and easy to follow. Her feedback is personalised so I understood my areas for improvement easily. I am able to apply my new skills to my business offerings.

Do it! These courses are easy to follow and apply and I feel more confident knowing I have learned industry-ready skills.
Thank you, I have enjoyed this class and Bernadette's teachings.

Friederike Buettner 1 year ago

I loved the flexibility as I work full time and was able to do the work in my own pace on the weekends. I will surely go back through it again to apply more insights into my daily tasks as a marketing manager.

I thought the feedback and the way Bernadette taught was great - positive, fun and energetic. Exactly what I needed! I found it great to interact with course members during the introduction and also to see everybody's assignment tasks, as I was able to learn from everyone.

I will definitely write better blogs, SEO copy and general marketing materials now. The simple formulas that always seem to work - it is so true but never crossed my mind, that it could be learned so easily. I have already recommended the AWC at work.

Lauren Jones 1 year ago

Bernadette is amazing! So knowledgable and so engaging. Feedback was constructive and positive and made me feel inspired to keep exploring.

Thank you so much!

Charlotte Turner 1 year ago

Really enjoyed the pace and also the homework assignments: helpful without being too overwhelming

The tutor was experienced and delivered the course in a way that it still felt like a two-way course. I have learnt useful tips and tricks. Writing actively not passively and using set formulas that work! I now see them everywhere.

Go for it!

Rebecca Kennedy 1 year ago

I was a little hesitant, as I didn't know much about copywriting and wondered if this would be the right course for me.

I enjoyed the course; it was easy to follow and I learned new skills that I can apply to my current profession as a recruiter and my personal brand.

The tutor was very knowledgeable, with an easygoing and friendly manner and encouraging style in her feedback. It will encourage me to continue this newfound hobby of writing.

The courses are fun and easy to follow, and manageable in terms of time commitment. I'm really glad I decided to enrol after my initial hesitation.

Jennifer Thompson 1 year ago

Awesome course, really enjoyed it. So many hot tips on how to work the Dark Arts of copywriting. I loved Bernadette's dulcet tones and storytelling style :)

This course was really easy to manage, coordinate and complete. The pace, the handouts and the exercises. Mostly, I really enjoyed Bernadette's example storytelling style. It tightened up my end game for online content.

I'd say (and have done) that this course is a content creation game-changer. #loveYourWork Bernadette!

Jacqui Peake 1 year ago

I trust the AWC brand and this course also provided value for money.

Bernadette was great! She obviously knows her stuff, and provides straightforward feedback. She's also a delight to listen to.

I have already done a couple of small copywriting jobs and have the confidence now to apply for, and chase, more.

Thanks Bernadette!

About us

The Australian Writers’ Centre offers courses in creative writing, copywriting, freelance writing, business writing and much more. Our practical and industry-proven courses will help you gain confidence and meet your goals faster!

Contact us

Phone: (02) 9929 0088 Email: [email protected] Head office: Suite 3,
55 Lavender Street, Milsons Point NSW 2061

© 2021 Australian Writers' Centre | FAQs | Terms, conditions & privacy policy

GET OUR FREE WEEKLY NEWSLETTER – WITH WRITING TIPS, COMPETITIONS AND MORE YES PLEASE!

Back to top ↑
×

Nice one! You've added this to your cart