AWC alumnae shortlisted for the 2020 Davitt Awards for best crime books

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp
Share on email
Share on print

AWC alumnae shortlisted for the 2020 Davitt Awards for best crime books

Congratulations to AWC alumnae Astrid Scholte and Petronella McGovern who have been shortlisted for the Davitt Awards 2020! Astrid Scholte made the list with her debut YA novel Four Dead Queens and Petronella McGovern with her debut thriller novel Six Minutes.

According to the media release, Moraig Kisler said that “the quality and breadth of the writing has blown us away. Whether its politics, pharmaceutical companies, children’s playgroups or the world of online trolls, women crime writers know how to apply the blow torch to their narratives.”

What are the categories for the awards?

From the media release: Six Davitt Awards will be presented in late September 2020: Best Adult Novel; Best Young Adult Novel; Best Children’s Novel; Best Non-fiction Book; Best Debut Book (any category); and Readers’ Choice (as voted the 550+ members of Sisters in Crime Australia).

Why is it called the Davitt Awards?

The Davitt Awards are named after Ellen Davitt who was the author of Australia’s first mystery novel, Force and Fraud, in 1865. 

The 2020 awards are likely to be presented online by a well-known overseas crime author (to be announced).

We are excited about our alumnae and for all the shortlisted authors. Find out all the shortlisted authors in the announcement video.

Browse posts by category
Browse posts by category

Courses starting soon

About us

The Australian Writers’ Centre offers courses in creative writing, freelance writing, business writing, blogging and much more. Our practical and industry-proven courses will help you gain confidence and meet your goals faster!

Contact us

Phone: (02) 9929 0088 Email: [email protected] Head office: Suite 3,
55 Lavender Street, Milsons Point NSW 2061

© 2021 Australian Writers' Centre | FAQs | Terms, conditions & privacy policy


Back to top ↑

Nice one! You've added this to your cart