Enter the 2021 Dorothy Hewett Award for an unpublished manuscript

Do you have an unpublished manuscript kicking around that you’re hoping to get published?

The 2021 Dorothy Hewett Award for an Unpublished Manuscript is now open. 

The winner will be offered a publishing contract with UWA Press PLUS a $10,000 cash prize from the Copyright Agency.

What kinds of entries are they looking for?
According to the press release, “The work must be fiction, narrative non-fiction or poetry, inclusive of hybrid genres such as verse novels or memoir.”

Writers from diverse backgrounds are encouraged to enter.

Why is it named the Dorothy Hewett Award?
According to the press release: “Dorothy Hewett (1923-2002) is considered one of Australia’s most important writers whose work challenged the norms of 20th century Australian culture. As a writer, Hewett made her mark as a poet, playwright, novelist, short story writer, memoirist and staunch activist while her life and work gave voice to the marginalised. In 1986, Hewett was made a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) for her services to literature.”

The winner of the first Dorothy Hewett Award, Josephine Wilson’s Extinctions went on to win the Miles Franklin Literary Award. 

Who are the judges?
This year, the judging panel consists of:

  • Leni Shilton, a poet, teacher and researcher 
  • Will Yeoman, former Literary Editor and Senior Arts Writer at The Western Australian Newspaper
  • Eleanor Hurt, UWA Press 

Entry details:
Entries close on 30 November 2020 at 5pm AWST.
The shortlist will be announced in early 2021.

Visit the UWA Press website to enter. 

Browse posts by category
Browse posts by category

Courses starting soon


Nice one! You've added this to your cart